We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast lunch”

Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #120 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fast lunch”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The ervice was so-so. Food was good. We had only a short time for lunch and they were able to accommodate our quick lunch request.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaM695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Authentic Taste of Italy in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'd read in the tourist mags that Ristorante Italiano earned top place in a variety of regional contests for Italian food, and they certainly earned those titles. This was the last spot at which I dined on my way out of Santa Cruz, and I happened in on Monday night, when a variety of pastas and sauces, complete with a salad and bread are served for under $10 at dinner. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and authenticity of my meal and only wished I'd had enough time to sample a treat from the wide array of desserts! I think the critical reviewer below must have dined at a different establishment, as even the regular menu was in the moderate price range. The ambience is small and large cafe tables, with a long bar in the dining area, and there is outdoor seating as well. The restaurant is hidden at the end of a small strip mall, but don't be fooled by the exterior. If you're seeking good Italian food, definitely stop by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“A local favorite. Can't go wrong with the pasta!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I think their pasta sauce is great. Rich and tasty. Awesome meatballs seasoned and cooked to tender perfection. Over the years there's been dishes I didn't like here, but overall, we keep going back. Expect it to be packed at prime dinner time most nights. The parking can be challanging because the lot around back is a bit tight. This is a very enjoyable family chow spot. Cool decour, nice staff. Have a glass of wine with your favorite pasta, so what if the kids are making a little noise. Save some room to share a dessert because most of them are very, very good. You'll have a nice time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny_OI812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mama Mia Delicioso!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great old fashioned Italian restarante in Santa Cruz! Checkered table cloths, candles in wine bottles and fresh & tasty daily specials! Have even added a delicious Sunday brunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gourmands155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You call this Italian Food?”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Oh lordy, what happened to this place. Haven't been in a few years so decided to give a try again. The only good thing about the place is they have a really nice outdoor seating area.

DH had veal parmesean. Veal was about the thickness of a playing card once you subtracted the breading. Wasn't very tasty either. I had the cioppino. I will say the clams/mussels, shrimp was good but the crab was like mush. Must have been frozen. Broth was lacking flavor. I'm pretty picky since I make a mean cioppino myself. And the bread that supposedly is made in house and supposedly is sourdough - NOT - was WAY undercooked/doughy and didn't resemble good sourdough in the least.

Wine list is decent and reasonably priced. The place is pretty big and it wasn't crowded at all. Our waiter was attentive until it was time to bring the bill. Had to flag him down after sitting around for over 15 minutes.

This place isn't cheap and it's so not worth the money. Sadly, will not return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calgal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing