We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully renovated historic monument with a charming staff, ocean views, and gorgeous marble bathrooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Feels very much like a B&B with breakfast included in the lobby and wine and hor d'oeuvres in the afternoon. With only nine rooms, it is quaint yet remarkably spacious. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help with directions, reservations or whatever an out-of-towner may seek. Rooms are very clean with great natural light (my room had skylights over the guest bed and over the oversized jetted spa tub). Free DVDs are available at the front desk and can be played on the flat screen TV/DVD wall mounted units. Gas fireplaces add a nice touch especially since it poured rain for my entire stay. Open the window and you can hear the ocean waves and seals barking in the morning. Bathroom counters, floors, shower and shower bench are all marble. The manager, Michael, gave me a tour and history of the building on the way to my room and instructed me to "please feel that our house is your house." I felt very welcome and safe in this beautifully renovated 1877 mansion on the cliff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evasimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 356 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

I have stayed here a number of times now, and always had a great experience. The building is beautiful, nicely maintained, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are perfect, everything is super clean. If I could buy one of those rooms, I would move in right away :)
If you are looking for peace and relaxation in a surrounding that makes you feel like home, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagerwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We are two friends who stayed at the West Cliff Inn with our husbands in celebration of our birthdays. Michael--the manager--went out of his way to make sure our birthday stay was memorable. He made sure we had the nicest rooms next to each other, set up the parlor so we could easily chat, offered to bring the afternoon wine to our rooms, and so on. He was gracious and professional, as was all the staff.

The inn has been beautifully restored. The decor was cozy, yet sophisticated and not the frilly, overdone, country-look you find in so many small inns. And there was a gas fireplace and flat panel TV in every room!

There is a full breakfast included in the rate, as well as afternoon wine and snacks.

We had a wonderful time and recommend the West Cliff Inn to anybody going to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Can walk to pier and along sidewalk to ocean view.
Very accomodating and beautiful bathrooms. Room 5 has private patio with private hot tub. Best breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

The West Cliff Inn is one of the most charming bed-and-breakfasts I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. Spacious rooms, filled with light and air, beautiful furnishings, a homey yet elegant atmosphere, individual attention lavished upon guests by the hotel staff... the place is simply unforgettable. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcermato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

If you want a big, comfortable, tastefully appointed and well-maintained home-like environment, this is the place. There is privacy and quiet in the rooms and plenty of space outside, in the parlors, for meals, meetings, and visiting. Service is excellent, with attentive folks all around - but not intrusive. This is NOT a hotel, thank goodness. It feels good to be there!

Jane Gard

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

I recently attended a meeting to establish a partnership between two separate non-profit agencies. The small group worked comfortably in the setting of the Inn and it was not only great neutral space but comfortable, charming, accommodating, and in a beautiful setting. I would highly recommend it for small business meetings.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $189 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing