We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and room”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for a romantic getaway in November. The place is immaculate, the food was great and the view of the bay and wharf were spectacular. Will stay here again without a doubt! We purchased the dining package and the restaurant was Shadowbrook, which was also amazing. Our room had a fireplace, which added to the charm. The wine and appetizers were delicious and the free cookies irresistible.

Room Tip: Room #4 on the second floor has a semi-private balcony with the most amazing view. We ordered a bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephaniewynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    67
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
34
245
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I knew I was lucky finding a small room vacancy on the weekend of Thanksgiving but I had no idea how lucky I was. Such friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff, amazing location and view and beautiful, spa-like, SUPER clean room with an amazing marble bathroom and shower. Right outside my door was also and beautiful terrace with the same spectacular view!
There was even a bike to use to bike the beach ACROSS THE STREET! Water, tea, coffee, snacks available at all hours. I will make sure I stay at Four Sisters whenever I travel to the areas they are located from now on! This is the best value for high end accommodations I have ever had. Thank you wonderful West Cliff Inn Staff!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saundraraelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The B&B (like many) is a completely remodeled private home from the late 1800's. So, it has that feel of an old Victorian with wood floors, 3 flights of stairs and a dumbwaiter for your luggage! My wife and I stayed here last week, and we were VERY impressed by the amenities (for those that care- rooms come stock with some pretty high end soaps, body wash, and robe sets).

If possible, get one of the higher end suites facing the water. Its well worth the price using one of the online discounts. They come with a hot tub style bath and separate shower. The bathroom we had was done in a polished marble- very classy. The rooms also have a full wi-fi and cable connection, and a VERY comfy plush bed.

Breakfast was also top notch with a combination of cold cereals, french toast and quiche with some great dark roast coffee. Since I like to eat, I was pretty darn impressed.

Just one area of caution. Don't be tempted to go for the lowest end room (I think its the Little Beach Bungalow). We saw it driving in, and believe me, by cozy, it is about the size of a toolshed. Also, its behind (and not attached to) the main house. Not worth it for a getaway trip.

The hotel basically sits on a slightly inclined cliff road about 500 feet from the beach and the main pier, so you get a great view of pretty much all of the beach end of Santa Cruz. Also, being in the touristier area, its very close to the downtown core (Water Street, etc.) with all the restaurants and shopping.

Definite recommend in the shoulder seasons. Rates are probably better, and its not as packed. Generally, Santa Cruz isn't the warmest beach on earth so anytime is fine.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guerillatraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
1,061 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Thank you, Dawn and Lauren, for helping us plan our return trip to you. This inn is perfection. Great rooms, totally peaceful, wonderful breakfast and wine hour. The best views. We love listening to our sea lion friends on the pier. We love Santa Cruz and would stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a lovely Inn, at the start of West Cliff which is a great road/walk up to see the surfers and beaches around the point from the main Santa Cruz beach. Afternoon cheese and wine was very good as was the breakfast. Location is good, a bit of a walk into town and some of the roads have a good number of homeless people on them so we ended up getting taxis late at night back from town. Pity that we came to town just after Labor Day, so the fun fair was shut and town was dead - definitely plan for this as we were quite disappointed!

Room Tip: There's a room with a private jacuzzi which is fun but be aware it doesn't have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jag381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in Room 3, a deluxe king spa room. It is located on the second floor, facing the front of the property and the ocean. It was wonderful to see the ocean from our window. Sadly, it was too chilly to use the (shared) balcony just outside our door. It does face the street, which didn't seem particularly busy, but we did hear some garbage trucks in the morning. We used our white noise app on the phones to drown out any potential street noise.

The room was quite spacious and well decorated. We opened the windows during the morning and day, but also used the fireplace to heat the room in the evenings. The bathroom is gorgeous and also spacious. Shower was great and soaking tub (with jets) was lovely.

We missed the wine hour, but availed ourselves of snacks left out before (cookies) and after (cake). Breakfast was yummy.

They were offering a fall discount (25% off the room).
Parking is included.

Location was amazing. In the morning, after breakfast but before checkout, we walked down to the beach in front of the boardwalk. We walked to the lighthouse (20-30 minute walk each way) and saw grey whales! We also saw many harbor seals swimming by on our way to and from the lighthouse.

We would have liked to stay longer!

Also, don't miss Natural Bridges State Beach, just a few miles down the road. We were able to see the monarch butterflies arriving in larger numbers (on their migration route). We visited at low tide and also really enjoyed the large tide pools.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent the first night of our California road trip here after flying in from the UK and it met our needs perfectly. The room was lovely with a very comfy bed. Wine and cheese when we arrived was just what we needed and the breakfast was superb, probably the best we had during our whole trip - the chef was great.. The location is ideal and running before sunrise (jetlag!) to find the sea lions waking up under the pier will be a very special memory I'll always treasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deefer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing