We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“West Cliff Inn Exceeded our Expectations~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“West Cliff Inn Exceeded our Expectations~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed just one night in the King Spa Suite (room 3) and it was lovely. The view overlooked the Santa Cruz beach. The breakfast and wine reception (both included) were wonderful. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g3ographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    63
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
32
222
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Inn is really great, great location, very walk-able from the beach and the boardwalk. We only spent a couple of days in Santa Cruz and on the last night we went downtown for ice cream and realized that the good restaurants and places to hang out int he evening were all downtown. we spent a couple unfulfilling evenings at beach restaurants and bars and nothing was very good.

The inn is really nice and in a great location for beach fun, but don't neglect downtown for dinner, ice-cream and a drink.

Room Tip: we stayed in room #9 which was really nice, had a great bathroom with a large jetted tub and separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
845 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is our second stay here, and this time we are in Room 3 for two blessed nights. Honestly, for all the traveling we do, this has to be our favorite place. Every single detail is taken care of. The property is immaculate. Rachel and Lauren are amazing. Wine and snacks in the late afternoons on the terrace overlooking the boardwalk are just an incredible little detail, and so are the cookies at the front desk. And breakfast. Both times we have stayed here it has been quiet and peaceful, too, and the rooms are so beautifully decorated, and the house is just stunning. In a couple of nights we are trying one of its sister properties in Sonoma. I hope it comes even close to the West Cliff Inn. I am in LOVE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It had been years since my husband and I had been to the North Coast. I knew I wanted to stay in Santa Cruz so that we could travel either direction and take in the beauty. I found a great deal on a Spring special and we had an amazing 3 day, 2 night stay at the West Cliff Inn. Our stay was so enjoyable we never left the location. The views are awesome and the location could not be more perfect! We opted for the spa room on the 3RD floor. The bathroom was huge and the jetted tub and separate shower were to die for. If it is a view from your room you are looking for then you might opt for one of rooms on the 2ND floor that have windows that face the Boardwalk and ocean. The second floor is also where the balcony is. They do have bicycles that you can check out and ride but we opted to walk every where. The rooms have DVD players and there is a good supply of movies should you desire to watch one. The afternoon wine and cheese was a wonderful touch and we enjoyed either sitting on the front porch while savoring our treats or sitting in front of the bay window. The morning breakfasts were amazing! Each day there was a completely different variety to choose from and the coffee was wonderful. The home is very quiet and even though there were other guests there we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We will surely stay here again when we return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank techies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just a one-night get-away but exceptionally enjoyable. We were lucky enough to stumble onto a deal making the West Cliff Inn affordable for us. Even though we had an obviously discounted price, we were treated very well, given a very nice room with a view and a lovely, large jetted tub.

Loved the location, the afternoon wine and cheese, the cookies, and the breakfast (especially those scones!). My favorite part of the trip was feeling like we were guests in someone's home. Sitting in the bay window, gazing out towards the Boardwalk and beach... really, really nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location, great staff, great breakfast, beautiful Victorian. Room 9 comfortably accommodated me, my wife, and two young daughters. My daughters loved the amazing jacuzzi tub after long days at the boardwalk and the beach. I can't say enough about the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A frequent Tripadvisor user and occasional reviewer, I have to let all know what a tremendous find this place is. We have greatly enjoyed our stay at this idyllic B&B that is literally one easy, walkable block off the water, the famous boardwalk and the West Cliff walk overlooking some of the most beautiful scenery in the US. We had frankly considered two of the larger hotels that are here on the water, but quickly realized what a better deal the West Cliff Inn is, and it allowed us to have a more personal and human experience than the bigger, less personal hotels. Why we felt this way: beautiful views; a stunning large home with beautiful artwork, porches all over; the best included breakfasts and appetizers/ wine at 4 pm you could ever hope to find in any hotel or B&B; a "family" feeling to the way in which they operate...very personal, can never help you enough, the chef and team walk about to say hello and to make sure you're happy; the rooms are gorgeous- with great views; no parking fees; free bicycle useage; free movie dvd's; cookies and hand made snacks all the time; all of the tourist spots seem to be within 20 minutes in any direction; a million great restaurant choices across all cuisines...including vegetarian and healthy options; you can literally walk to the beach in 1 minute...a fabulous beach with the boardwalk and a fantastic amusement park there that kids and adults should love because it is the oldest amusement park on the beach in the US; if you're a photography nut, be prepared to take a thousand pictures because the scenery in Santa Cruz, Capitola, Aptos and the overall area is breathtaking and very interesting. We have spent 5 days here and have loved every minute. If one doesn't love this area and this place, I'd be stunned. At present, I am overlooking the 2 other hotel options right at the beach, and I have to say we would stay here 10 out of 10 times. One can walk from here straight down the coast on the West Cliff walk and go for many miles, and this helps burn some energy after eating too many of the cookies and the scrumptious breakfasts-which are always a little different and made with love.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickrichardson2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#2 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.0 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing