We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
271
79
18
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
79
18
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon wine dumb waiter wine reception quiche wine and appetizers bay window gas fireplace freshly baked cookies breakfast was delicious public areas hot tub other guests deluxe king your luggage the main house top floor beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 384 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We had a wonderful experience at the West Cliff Inn! We arrived late and had to let ourselves in but we had no trouble finding the key or the delicious cookies at the front desk. It was around 9:30 pm and the Inn was so quiet we wondered if we were the only ones there. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The best part was the balcony with the hot tub! We used it that evening and again in the morning before we left. As one reviewer mentions there is a window in another room that looks over the balcony and hot tub. The glass in the window is textured privacy glass so I doubt anyone inside could see anything outside. And, the balcony doesn't have a great view. One side looks over houses and the other side over a motel parking lot but it didn't bother us one bit. Breakfast was delicious. Offerings included a wonderful green chile egg dish, fresh fruit, pankcakes, oatmeal, musuli and several baked breads and other pastries. Two reasons why I didn't rate this as excellent -- the price of the room was about 25% too high and the room doors do slam when they close. We didn't hear it during the night but in the morning we heard a couple of door closing.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berttaylorhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

It is a beautiful property in a great location, room would have been comfortable, but...

The shower in room 5 points directly at the door, so the guest must choose whether to soak the floor through the open shower door or get a blast of cold water while waiting for the water to warm. If the shower door is not in just the right place, water spills onto the floor.

The private patio is not private since the Seaway Inn has a clear view of it and the window from room 7 opens out to the patio. In addition, the space is very large and could use some plants or trees, as well as an umbrella. The afternoon sun made the patio unusable for much of the day, the lack of privacy the rest of the time.

The room became unpleasantly warm and stuffy in the afternoon, and a ceiling fan seems necessary. The room also needs a refrigerator or, at very least, access to ice and a bucket. A pen and notepaper would also help, as would a local phone directory.

Also troublesome was the fact that the wireless internet access was not available during our stay, and apparently had been down for some time. This did keep us from tasks we had planned to do and information we had needed. An the TV stinks and is almost impossible to tune.

There was no Diet Coke available in the lobby. I was told on the first day that it had been ordered, but there never was any. It would seem that someone could head to Safeway and rectify the situation in no time.
The food was good if always late, the staff friendly if not always on top of things.

Like another reviewer, I contacted Four Sisters by e-mail and U.S. Mail, but no response. They obviously don't care. It would take so little to fix the problems (and to reply to guests who take a lot of effort to communicate), so spend your money somewhere else.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FCT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Our room was quite nice, but small. The weather was warm and we opened all the windows except for one----one window in our room opened to the "private" hot tub patio adjoining another room! We felt we would be infringing on their privacy by opening our window. We came to Santa Cruz with my brother and his wife, who had a room on the top floor. All their room had was a plug-in fan and it was uncomfortably HOT for them (no balcony and considered a suite).

We realize this remodeled Victorian is new, but there should be make-up mirrors in the bathrooms ,and the doors to the rooms close very loudly. Consideration should be given to putting in some kind of mechanisms to allow the doors to shut slowly and quietly.

We paid a reduced rate for our stay; I do not feel the rooms are worth what the regular pricing will call for. I recommended this hotel to my brother, having stayed at other Four Sisters Inns.....when he wrote a letter to the West Cliff Inn to inform them of some of his issues during our stay, he NEVER even received a response back from them. You would think a new hotel establishing themselves for business would be interested in customer concerns.

Date of stay: July 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cbcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We tried this property mainly because of they offered discounted rate for the day we wanted -- our anniversary. From the website it appeared that the inn is right across the ocean but it is not. It is facing another hotel and look over that hotel property to the ocean. We got the best room of the inn -- room 3, the one with a bay window. If you ever wanted to try the inn, try to get room 3. It is decent sized and the big window offered decent view of the beach area.

The staff is definitely in training, because they were confused about the discounted rate. I have to call the Four Sisters corporate office to get it settled.

One thing that really surprised me is they allow many children, including young children to stay on the property . That makes the property not a romantic place for honeymoon or anniversary. We tried to have a get away from our children for our anniversary, but to find there were even more children at the inn.

The property is facing a busy street. We were there on a Monday night and street noise wasn't a problem to sleep at night.

I would recommend the place at a discounted rate for staying near the beach, but probably not for a romantic getaway.

One good thing is that it is very close to the wharf. A morning walk there will get you close to many playful sea lion at the wharf. It is very amusing to see them play and fight with each other.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mochihobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at the West Cliff Inn at Santa Cruz. Four Sisters has a history of fine property. This is not one of them. We were put in the room at the top of the hotel. No AC and about 100 degrees. We had to leave our door open in order to keep in under 90. Do not stay at the West Cliff until winter. I contacted Four Sisters management by E-mail and US Mail and never got a answer.

Date of stay: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Tom068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews