We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable place for families”
Review of Pelican Point Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Point Inn
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
santa cruz
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great affordable place for families”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Imagine you have two teenage kids and want to stay in a hotel by the beach for a summer weekend in Santa Cruz. If you are Obama, you probably stay in Lanikai, HI. If you're not, you might like this place. Affordable, 5 minute walk at most to Twin Lakes beach, and the two rooms we stayed in (Suites 1 & 2) were recently updated with marble counters and nice kitchenettes. It would be very reasonable to make your own breakfasts and lunches here, we just didn't think to go shopping first. Why not 5 stars? Bathrooms were dated and a bit of road / guest noise.

Room Tip: Suites 1 and 2 were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
32
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwerbrug, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We only booked for two nights, but were said we had to leave during our trip on highway 1. Great location ( 4 min to the beach), comfy rooms and great service. Restaurant near the harbor ( The Crow's Nest) can be reached on foot by the beach, so you can leave your car to get some rest. The owners ( a German/Vietnamese couple) will make sure this place keeps tidy, as well as look after all your needs. We will come back!

Room Tip: Book in time, limited number of rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just returned from a three day stay at the Pelican Point Inn. This place is run by a very friendly lady named Anne (owner?) who greated us like an old friend, couldn't be nicer. We booked the room two weeks before arrival, and she didn't take or want our credit card info at all. She promised a room would be ready when we got there, and followed up with an email, and it was ready, just like she said. Credit card information was given upon arrival. The units are clean, we got a one bedroom queen with a twin in the living room (couch and a couple of chairs were there too!) Everything was clean when we arrived, in fact is smelled like a spa room. The beds were unbelieveably comfortable!!! The kitchenette is remodeled and the bathroom nice size also remodeled with granite countertops in both, new sinks, lighting fixtures, etc. Kitchen was fully stocked for cooking with coffee pot, toaster, refridgerator, etc. No "continental breakfast" or pool, but it did not matter. The beach is beautiful and just a couple blocks away. Walking distance up the road or up the beach to a couple of really good restaurants and a short drive to the boardwalk. I was concerned about traffic noise, but it was hardly noticeable and very quiet at night. The only complaints I have, and these are SMALL issues, is a throw rug on the hardwood floor in front of the couch would have been kind of nice, and the couch itself was a little uncomfortable (plenty cushy, it's just the back pillows were overstuffed so it felt like I was getting pushed off....) The TV was older, but worked fine. The room attendant tidied up our rooms every day and refreshed the towels, replinished the coffee, etc., and did a nice job too. So, for $150 per night weekend and $130 weekday, this place was totally perfect. Both my friend and I were very happy to stay here, and just ask him, I can be persnickety!. Thank you Anne, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 555vickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This place is old, the units are a bit cramped and dated, but are clean. Only a few units, maybe 10. Very close to the beach (couple blocks walk), and across the street is a mini store, and also a Mexican restaurant. So if you are on a budget and wish to make your own breakfast in the kitchenette, for $60 per night less than other nearby hotels close to Capitola side of Santa Cruz, this is the place. A safe area, too. The manager, who I believe is the owner, is very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Couple of upstairs units. Also units vary in size a lot, so discuss that with the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RocketFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked two rooms for a visit to SC for Christmas. Anne, (I believe she is the owner), was incredibly accommodating and patient while I adjusted our reservation more than a few times. Wearrived and checked in with no hassle. Both rooms were just what our family needed. They were clean and comfortable and moral like small apartments. Rooms are fully equipped with kitchens for cooking breakfast or lunch. My sister even noted that the covers on the couch had just been cleaned and returned when they got their room. The Inn is across from a nice market, and down the street from a coffee shop. The best draw, we felt, was the walking distance to the beach. 1 block away is a great, low key, dog friendly dog beach. Prices are reasonable, for SC. We will make this our go-to place when we come bacteria to visit family.

I think the only negatives would be its on a busy street, and while we never heard street noise at night, there is a nice patio that is difficult to enjoy with the car noise.

Room Tip: #10 is the largest, it was the managers room and has full bedroom, kitchen, bath and living room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandalCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Easy check-in with a friendly host, very clean and roomy suite with a kitchenette and queen bedroom. Very comfy and again, clean, bed. Chairs and small table outside each room a really nice touch. Close to the beach and a really nice walk to downtown. The road is busy but it is quiet in the bedroom. So glad we stayed here for one night!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarrbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay close to the beach yet away from the crowds of the boardwalk, a Living room and kitchenette and separate bedroom this is it! Ann the owner is very nice and hospitable. Resonable priced too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yucaipian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
1.9 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point Inn

Property: Pelican Point Inn
Address: 21345 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pelican Point Hotel Santa Cruz
Pelican Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing