We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Point Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Point Inn
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This inn has very friendly staff. The room we were assigned was a two bedroom suite for 99 pet night. Wow! It had a kitchen with a fridge/freezer and dishes etc. Pretty great.

Very good location a block or two from the beachand central between capitola and Santa Cruz. Biking distance to either.

Only con was lack of natural lighting because our room had a building on o e side and the other window looked out into someone's unkept and trash ridden yard.

Still a fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
32
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Ann (the owner?) and staff are super nice. The Pelican is a small, clean inn located near Pleasure Point. Everything in Santa Cruz is accessible by car regardless of where you are. There are a couple of nice places to dine at, nothing fancy and neither is the Pelican. The rooms are clean, mine had a kitchenette with fridge. For the location and affordability, provides good value if you're staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mkisinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were able to get a room for one night on short notice by emailing the inn a few days before. Check-in was supposed to be at 3 pm, but we arrived at 8:30 am, exhausted after driving up from Santa Barbara. I called the number on the office, and the owner drove up and let us check in early! She was very friendly and chatty.
The room itself was lovely-looking clean. It appeared to have been recently renovated, with a shiny new kitchen, wood floors, and granite counter tops. I was really impressed by the amount of useful stuff in the kitchen; it was definitely not lacking. Included were a fridge, freezer, gas stove, sink, microwave, cookware, dishes, and utensils for cooking and eating. Besides coffee and coffee supplies in the kitchen, there were also large bottles of Suave conditioning shampoo and body wash ("ocean breeze" scented, appropriately) provided in the bathroom. The living room had a television, a narrow space-saving fan, and a portable radiator. The bedside lamp had several settings and could be adjusted just by tapping it.
The location is great, with a nearby Mexican market and some eateries-- plus the beach is in walking distance. Our stay was peaceful and quiet, but then again we were on the second floor. One of the guests who was staying on the first floor said that the people above her were quite noisy.
When we checked out, the owner was helpful and amiable. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rugbroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We almost stayed at one of the namebrand hotels in Santa Cruz, but I'm glad we found this place instead. It was basically the same price, but we gained a kitchenette and living room. Very useable kitchen, but on a studio apartment scale (if you expect a full-size kitchen then rent a house). Perfect if you're splitting the place among friends since you get a little more privacy than you would in a two-bed hotel room. The owner was very friendly. Several reatauants and a small grocery store as well as a couple beaches within walking distance, but seems to be more of a residential area in general.


  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

We arrived at the Pelican Point Inn not sure what to expect, but we were very pleased. Although our original room was doublebooked, Ann gave us two beautiful rooms for the same price. Both rooms were very well equiped and maintained and well appointed. She obviously cares very much about her place and take great pride in caring for it . Ann is also a very enjoyable person to talk with. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5TravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

I love hotels with kitchen, even if we don't cook anything, it's handy to have during family travels, just in case. Nice use of space for all that you need. We felt very welcome here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agumonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

My wife and I have lived in Santa Cruz for well over 20 years but have spent the last year living in Charlotte NC. Recently, we visited Santa Cruz and was encouraged by some friends to stay our last night at the Pelican Point Inn. Best decision we could have made! We were so blessed by the owner Ann and her hospitality. The location is simply amazing, allowing us to walk to the beach and enjoy a wonderful sunset. The rooms are litterally like little suites with everything you could possibly need. From location to price, I am not sure of anywhere one might stay in Santa Cruz that comes close to the Pelican Point Inn. My wife and I will most definately return in the future.
I give this place 5 STARS+++++ (Marc & Karine K.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nice600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#34 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.0 mi away
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point Inn

Property: Pelican Point Inn
Address: 21345 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pelican Point Hotel Santa Cruz
Pelican Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing