We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

A good value place to stay right on the sea front. Clean and tidy. My only issue was with some noisy neighbours - so maybe someone on a night shift might be a good idea just to help keep the noise down at the weekends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We appreciate the time you took to let us know you enjoyed your stay and that you believe, as we do, that you get a great value for your money. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for a fraction of what others charge and believe our guests deserve great service as well. Being so close to the ocean helps when we offer free parking to our guests so you don't have to look for parking to enjoy a day out. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    120
    64
    15
    35
See reviews for
102
96
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Every quarter I drop off my son at the local university and stay at the same hotel, Coastview Inn. The staff are polite, know the area well, and very friendly. The guy, also a student, was charismatic and gave us another discount. He made our stay comfortable. The hotel is close to the city's major attraction, Boardwalk, and a huge variety of restaurants, ranging from sizzling Mexican food, pepperoni pizza, fresh seafood, and baroque steak. Even though we only stayed for one day, my sister and I had a great time. I would highly recommend this place for a person who is not looking for luxurious bedding, but is looking for a decent place near the beach and Santa Cruz's thrilling theme park, arcade and wharf. I am not giving the place five stars because, as a repeated customer, the rooms have not been updated yet. Although, the place still offers comfort for a good price. Thank you Coastview Inn!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the beach choose the oceanview room. It is a tad bit more expensive than the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avasque6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We could not have said it better ourselves with your glowing review thank you! We do pride ourselves in offering our guests clean and comfortable rooms for a great rate. Being so close to so many venues makes our Inn a perfect fit for the vacationing traveler or the business person needing a getaway once business is completed. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
772 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel is right on the sea front, 200 yards +/- from the Pier and 500 yards +/- from the Boardwalk - location is central for all attractions and price is good too! Free WIFI too. Check in was fast and efficient and welcoming. Hotel has plenty of parking, some in the motel and under the motel while the rest is in a secure lot behind it. We booked into room 205 on the second floor, at the rear of the hotel. Room was nice with a king sized bed, A/C, TV, ironing table and iron, it had a desk which was good for laying stuff out on, plenty of hanging space and also 3 drawers for clothes. It had NO coffee maker!

Off the bedroom was a small ante room with a sink, mirror microwave and fridge. Leading off that was a toilet/bath/shower.

Breakfast was your typical light conintinental style meal with the usual culprits available. It was fine but the room was quite small and filled up quickly. It is free! There is a Denny's across the road for those who like big breakfasts.

All in all I thought the room was nice and modern and great value and I'd go back in a shot.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear of the hotel incase the noise from the boulevard was loud - we did not hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As we are located so close to the beach it makes it a fun walk to see the beach without having to drive and look for parking. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson,ca
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and for the most part we were happy. I noticed when I went to check in that the floors in the office were really dirty, like they hadn't been swept in weeks. Lots of dust bunnies and sand all around the floor corners, etc. We went to our room and it was very small so I upgraded to an ocean view which was much better and roomier.( Two queen beds and enough room to put a blow up mattress on the floor for my son). The room seemed very clean and the view was great. My daughter noticed that the sheets came un tucked and that on the mattress cover that enclosed the top mattress had stains on it. That kind of made us un easy about the cleanliness of the room. The sheets were clean so we just dealt with it. They used flat sheets instead of fitted sheets. The staff was very accommodating and nice. The continental breakfast so very basic. (Toast, rolls, cereal, juice and coffee/tea.) The pool looked dirty like it needed to be vacuumed. The price was right and the location was awesome with free parking at the hotel.
P.S The day we checked out there was a cleaning lady finally cleaning the floors in the office where you check in.:) Oh, And the beds were very comfortable.
Overall, I would stay there again because the price was great and you couldn't beat the location right across the street from the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our priority that our guests are provided with clean and comfortable rooms for a great price. Our location is wonderful as we are so close to the beach and offer ocean view rooms as well. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I liked the price for this hotel. It is right across the street from the beach, ample parking and nice, simple rooms. Staff is very nice. Only hiccup, the breakfast room is incredibly small (used to be a room), so finding a "sit down" "spot" might be difficult.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We appreciate you lovely comments about our motel being well located as we are so very close to the beach.. It is our priority that we provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please come stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I spent two nights here, and was very happy. Parking is plentiful, though the upper deck is less than convenient. When I checked in, I was not told about the continental breakfast, so I missed it the first morning. But, the room was comfortable, and relatively spacious, and a good value, so I will return when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BretBeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your responding to your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We do offer clean and comfortable rooms right across the street from the beach and boardwalk. Our free parking is a real time saver of having to look for a space or pay for parking , as ours is free for our guests. We are sorry you missed out on the free continental breakfast provided for our guests and will take that up with the front desk to remind then to share that information to all our guests.Our value that we offer is incredible when you put all the benefits together and you saying you will stay again is what we love to hear from our guests. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

the staff was great close to everything loved my stay will stay again the rooms were very clean and the pool was very clean excellent staff service the beach was across the street loved the sounds of the seals the breakfast was ok the parking was free at the hotel

Room Tip: top floor is best I did not see a fitness center or kids activities they have a nice and clean pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for responding to your stay with us at Coastview Inn. You have us dead on when you say we are a great beach property for the price. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for your stay and also offer free parking for our guests. Our location is one of the best as we are about 10 min from downtown for more venues to check out. We look forward to your next stay with us when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#19 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carousel Beach Inn
Carousel Beach Inn
#10 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing