We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite OK motel, overpriced, but great location”
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite OK motel, overpriced, but great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic view from the window to the beach. The hotel is almost directly across the street from the Boardwalk, and only a few blocks from the wharf! Location, location, location! HOWEVER... The room was otherwise only adequate, especially considering the cost! I would next time look perhaps for a motel on the next block parallel to the beach and in all likelihood spend a lot less money and get much better accomodations! And still have a fine location, minus the view to the beach, which wasn't really worth the surcharge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Square_Dansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    65
    15
    35
See reviews for
105
100
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Awesome location - directly across the street from the boardwalk and beach! We were only at the hotel for one night but loved the fact that we were right across the street from the beach. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only complaint would be that the toilet would refill itself without being flushed so throughout the night I was awoken several times by the pipes rattling when refilling the toilet. Only one towel and washcloth in the room so I had to go ask for more at the front desk. Thanks for a great day in Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, the waterfront rooms would be nice just for the view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is not a fancy hotel at all but had very comfortable beds and a good bathroom/kitchenette area. These areas have obviously been updated recently.

We loved the location. It is right across the street from the beach, boardwalk, arcade.

The employees were pleasant and helpful.

I would recommend they repair the key access for their rooftop parking lot. I never could get my key to work. This meant walking about a block to the car that was unnecessary. Also, as this is an older hotel, you will here people on the walkways outside your room.

Again, Location, Location, Location - perfect for families with kids.

Room Tip: Try to get 2nd floor near the end of the walkway - I think rooms 218, 219 or so. This would elimin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A friend from the East Coast was visiting briefly, and I knew she loved being near the ocean, so we booked a night at the Coastview Inn due to its location right across the street from the Pacific Ocean at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the expansive beach. We had snagged the last parking spot in the underground lot at our arrival, but had we not, there was more parking on the outside lot above, we were told.

Check-in was easy, with a friendly, professional desk clerk, who let us know the times of the continental breakfast included in the room price. We loved our room (219, last on the second floor), for even though it was right by the pool where numerous adults and children were using it as we went to our room, there wasn't really any noise from anyone using the pool at night to prevent us from sleeping at night. The room was basic but sufficient: besides the two queen-sized beds, there were surprisingly upscale bathroom products, a tv, a larger-than-dorm-sized refrigerator, a microwave, a desk and chair, and hairdryer. There were plenty of towels (2 bath towels apiece) and good-sized counter space by the sink for both of our toiletries. Yes, the clock continually blinked despite our attempts to set it, and yes, there was no sink stopper for putting in contacts, but we weren't on a time schedule needing to wake up early and could just put a face towel at the bottom of the sink to make sure any dropped contact didn't fall down the drain. We didn't bother notifying the front desk about either, but the desk clerk would have rectified either problem readily, we're confident. On our way out immediately after setting our bags down, we noticed an ice machine and a soft drink machine by the pool.

The location is really the reason to choose this modest hotel in Santa Cruz. Directly across the street we were on the beach in scant minutes, wiggling our toes in sand as we walked along to talk and catch up. We could sit in a relatively unoccupied part of the beach and continue talking while looking at marvelous vistas on the other side of the pier away from the Boardwalk as the sun was glinting off the Pacific. We could walk to the Boardwalk and see people enjoying the rides while we joined those gazing at the myriad sailboats going in and out of the fog right off the coast as if they were transitioning between being ghost ships and living ships. We could walk to a beach-side restaurant for dinner to talk until the sun went down and easily and be back at the Coastview Inn within two to three blocks for the night, further to relax in bed for more chatting before sleep. And being across the street from the beach between the pier and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk didn't mean hearing the sounds of people on the rides: only when we stepped outside our room could we hear the screams of delight in the distance; inside, we heard none of that. Yes, there was the occasional clang of the gate next to our room of other hotel guests going to their cars in the evening if they'd parked in the upper lot, but that was minimal.

In the morning the breakfast provided consisted of choices of coffee, tea, and orange juice for beverages and of two types of cereal and milk, individually packaged pastries, and two types of bread to toast up with spreads of peanut butter, butter, and jams and jellies. The breakfast room couldn't accommodate all guests if all chose to come in to sit down at once, but most were coming in to grab food to bring back to their rooms anyway. And at check-out we were told (when we asked the clerk) we could leave our car parked there until 2 pm, so we were able to enjoy more strolling along the beach, sitting to watch the various pick-up volleyball games going on, and a leisurely lunch at a restaurant on the pier without having to worry about re-parking our car and paying for parking elsewhere. This perk was unexpected and much appreciated since we weren't expected at our next destination until 3 pm.

In all, we agreed that we had a relaxing visit due in large part to the reasonable and well-situated Coastview Inn where the rooms were clean and the location felt and was secure for both visitors and vehicles. The Coastview Inn is a great find for those who want a good basic hotel and who care more about location than luxury--and being at a sunny California beach is luxury enough!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have the views of the ocean from the balcony outside entrances to the indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had an excellent experience at the Coastview Inn. It's very reasonably priced for the location, and clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and the location is great, right on the beach, between the pier and the boardwalk. This was just what we were looking for - a clean, comfortable, no frills place right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here before and had a decent time. Its not the nicest but I liked the location a lot. After this last experience I rather pay $200 a night than deal with their HORRIBLE customer service. I booked this hotel through Priceline and was charged at booking. When I checked out, I was again charged from the hotel. Since I was on vacation, I had my money planned accordingly so this additional $100 fee kinda threw me off but I wasnt going to worry about it to much, they said it would reimbursed in a few days. Well I check my bank account today (5 days later) and I was charged THREE times from the hotel!?! I called and spoke to the "manager" and he was competely RUDE. Had no care in the world that I was charged from priceling and the hotel 3 times! he said the money should be back tomorrow. WTH thats $300 that I was not expecting to get taken out and they did not take responsibility for their mistake at all. NEVER WILL I STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and have already reserved 2 nights in june with the ocean view. Very excited! !!! Bringing a teenager and she is so excited to get to stay a t your place!!! Warm cookies are always a bonus. And plan on using the bowling alley also. It was nice just being so close and walking everywhere

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing