We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay in Santa Cruz”
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night stay in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My daughter was visiting from out of state and we wanted to enjoy some time at the coast, and decided on Santa Cruz. We liked that the hotel is across the street from the beach. Staff was very friendly when we checked in, and our room was clean and comfortable. Night noise was minimal. The continental breakfast was good, but there could have been more choices. Overall, we were happy with our accomodations and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    65
    16
    35
See reviews for
105
101
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location, location, location!!! When I was planning our trip to Santa Cruz one of the most important aspects was the location of the hotel. If you like friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean rooms, and yes right across the street from the action, this is the place for you! The hotel was recently renovated and is AAA Diamond approved. The rates are reasonable for this area as you know it is always cost more on the weekends. The complimentary continental breakfast is nice coffee, tea, Danish, toast etc. Oh, did I mention no parking fees! I must admit I was a little skeptical when I booked based on some of the reviews I had read. However after staying I would stay again, and would recommend to friends and family. Keep up the great work see you next time.

Room Tip: We had room 201 excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levistrauss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife, daughter, and I stayed here on a whim and looked ok, looks can be deceiving. ALL the pillows smelled like sweat(so we did not use them, too disgusting). Decided to take a shower the drain was clogged with hair(which I cleaned out,even worse than the pillows)from past guests, also the drainage lever to the tub was broken since who knows when. So I ask, $100.00 for this? Will not come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuiSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

stockton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Here right now just cleaned my room with Clorox ..... we paid about 160 dollars for this room.. not vacumed...all mirrors dirty...even the counters were not wiped down ...... come on guys... you are charging full summer prices...the least you could do was give us a clean room....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGoldenPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There's not a lot I can say about the Coastview Inn! It was a very reasonably priced hotel which provided a convenient stop off en-route to San Francisco. Having a free car park on-site was welcome, as was the proximity to the beach and pier. I personally found Santa Cruz to be uninspiring but that's a matter of opinon!

The room was basic but clean and perfectly adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. At one point I thought the car battery had been stolen, however it transpired that it was flat. The kind receptionist arranged for a local garage to come and jump start the car which was very helpful.

I wouldn't stay here again as I wouldn't wish to visit Santa Cruz again! However, if the hotel was located somewhere else then I would not hesitate in staying!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, otherwise you will end up looking over an abandoned building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are simple but the location can't be beat. It is located right across the street from the beach and a short wall to the pier and the boardwalk. The Firefish Grill was wonderful. The mini golf across the street was quite inexpensive at $5 for 18 holes. The pool was dirty and never used. This was not a big deal as the beach was across the street. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnight222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We originally made reservations for the paradise inn accross the street because it was cheaper. Little did we know we would be running in the opposite direction as soon as we got there. We came here and they were so friendly and the room we stayed in was great. We didn't even have reservations and we were able to get a room for two nights. It's clean and well updated. Everything works great in the room and we are literally across the street from the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing