We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Whats not to like” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Lalinde, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Whats not to like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We only stopped for one night but it was a very pleasant stay,
Young man at the front desk was helpful, parking is good and no problem for me but have seen a few reviews about being a bit tight so just depends on your driving skills proberly not a problem for european guests, Non-Smoking our room was ok but big cigarette trays outside each room door smell a bit every time you pass them,
would I stay here again Yes

Watch out for the roundabout in Santa Cruz (didn't think they had them in the US)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    116
    61
    15
    35
See reviews for
97
93
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I'm not going to try to be negative about this review because I don't like being negative but I will simply give facts.
-Nonsmoking room smell clearly of cigarette smoke during whole stay
-mattress stiff
-hotel on boardwalk
-beach is literally right there
-parking lot awkward and hazardous
-underground packing lot leaks
-staff friendly, helpful, nice
-continental breakfast coffee & cold cereal
-you are next to a bowling alley and can hear the pins knocking crystal clearly in the parking lots
-walls paper thin. Heard the man next door brushing his teeth in the morning (not electric brush)
-heater worked :) (winter vacationer)
-sketchy neighborhood behind hotel
-screaming sounds all night, kept waking up to all the neighborhood sounds
- local surfers use hotel parking for their day use
- maybe 11 hotel parking spots and 2 handicap
-clean
-appliances in great condition

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for a beach view room. ASK FOR CORNER ROOM so there is a possibility of better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adl2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location is unbeatable, as you can keep your car in the motel lot and simply walk one block to the beach and boardwalk. Our room was very small, but well furnished and clean. It was a bit noisy... we were on the second floor, but people down by the pool were clearly audible, as were people talking next door. But the value was very good. Middling continental breakfast is included. Coffee was decent. WiFi was free and easy. If you stay and have noisy neighbors, you might play a "white noise" video on YouTube on your mobile device when you're ready to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This motel has the potential of being a great asset to the local tourism scene, being a profitable enterprise and offering a premier product, but clearly there are management issues that need to be attended to before it can claim to be anything but a basic motel.

On arrival the welcome was very cold. Not even a hello. I settled into my room, which I must say was very clean and had all the facilities that you would need for a comfortable stay. The only thing which was missing was a coffee machine which was stated on the booking agent’s web site. Only a minor thing and not a big issue because I always carry a travel kettle with me for the early morning cuppa.

Later I tried to switch on the TV, following the instructions left in the room. Alas I could not get it to work. I went to speak to the receptionist who agreed to come up to my room and help, only to be told “there is no satellite box, so your TV will not work”. He went away to speak to the manager and returned to tell me that it would be several days before a satellite box would be available. The hotel was full so there were no other rooms to move to. After a little negotiation I was told that they would offer a refund on the room for not having TV.

The next day I went out and on returning to my room to find the electronic key would not work. I went to the reception and asked why. With no emotion was expressed as the key was reprogrammed. At least they could have said sorry.

Later that day I returned to my room to discover that it had not been cleaned. I enquired why my room had not been made up, only to be asked “did you put the card on your door asking for maid service”. What card? There was no card in the room and no instructions anywhere stating this was the procedure. The receptionist said he would try and find the maid to visit the room before she went home. It then became obvious that there was only one maid to clean all of the rooms.

On one of my many visits to the reception I noticed some younger customers were being refused a room because they wanted to pay cash. “We do not accept cash” was the response from the staff member on duty. An odd way to do business!
At the front of the motel there were hand written posters advertising for staff. Clearly they motel had staffing issues.

The exterior corridors and communal areas needed to be cleaned. There were obvious drink stains, overflowing bins and ashtrays full of cigarette butts.

Because of my frequent visits to reception, I got to know the young receptionist quite well. He became very likeable but it was clear however he had little knowledge of the hotel and hospitality sector and was probably just carrying out the orders from management. I have in the past offered advice to business such as this one, and would gladly work with them to help turn the business around, if they were interested.

On the positive side, the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The bed was just right for me to get a good night’s sleep. Free parking is offered which is an added bonus for staying in the beach area. Breakfast is average American motel style but enough to set you up for a day. The motel is situated right on the beach and within steps of the Broadwalk amusement area. There are many restaurants nearby. It is also within walking distance of downtown. There is a shuttle bus nearby which takes you downtown for just 25 cents.

The choice is obviously yours. The motel is clean and comfortable, but unless the attitude of management changes, you might encounter problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JmIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice Surprise! Room is somwhat like a Motel 6. The size is OK, the king bed was a bit saggy, there's that familiar musty/bleach smell, and the single paned windows allow for road and tourist noise. So why the 4 rating? For one thing, there are unexpected amenities - small refrigerator, microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, continental breakfast (but just from 8A-10A), HD TV with Dish Network (mine worked great; not the same experience as the earlier reviewer). But what’s really remarkable is the location – it is literally across the street from the famous Boardwalk, and just a block and a half walk from the Wharf (dining, shopping, fishing, views). Strongly recommend the Ocean View rooms, especially those on the second floor – great views!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms look right out onto the ocean, boardwalk, and wharf. we stayed in Rm 202 but it ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheObjectiveCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice stay right on the beach. It is not a big new hotel, but it was nice enough for an overnight stay.

The stay was friendly and informative.

Rooms were just OK. Beds were just average and the tv was old at best. I wasn't there to watch TV though.

I would visit again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viper19692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is pretty good value for money. You get on sight parking which is really useful in Santa Cruz, and the location is right on the beach and only a 10 minute walk from the hubbub of town.

The rooms are really basic which is to be expected with the price. They come with air conditioning, a tv and wifi however I couldn't get either the tv or wifi to work.

Staff were pretty friendly and helpful in giving us directions.

All in all pretty good value in my book

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobaiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#23 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#19 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing