We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best Scenic Walk in Town

If you're visiting Santa Cruz, West Cliff Drive should be somewhere in your top 5 things to do. You... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Bret W
,
Santa Cruz, California
I could live here!

This is a Dark Sky Town. I love that! Its idea for Ranching and farming. Its so beautiful you just... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
danakg11
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 1,212 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Santa Cruz
from $69.00
More Info
from $845.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveler rating
941
236
30
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
236
30
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural bridges state park beautiful drive surfing museum bike ride paved walkway great place to walk dog beach crashing waves dog walkers steamer lane lighthouse point park your car watch surfers breathtaking views dream inn the pacific ocean light house
Filter
Updating list...
1,010 - 1,015 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

West Cliff Drive goes north from the Wharf and is a popular walking and biking route, as well as a scenic drive. There are parking spots and it's a great place to see the ocean, watch the surfers, pop into the tiny Surfer's Museum, admire beautiful Santa Cruz houses and picnic.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A wonderful walking path along the bay! Watch out for the zooming bikers though. Absolutely beautiful with lots of wild life and surfers to watch!

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank JaneyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We live about an hour away, so we visit here often. We drove in our car on West Cliff Drive and stopped for the view, which is always wonderful no matter what the weather. This time we parked, got out, felt the ocean spray on our faces, and took some photos. The ocean smells so good here. We didn't stay long because of nature's call. Loved our short sit-down on the cliff bench. You may want to linger.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank declectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Where in the world can you walk and have one side on the Pacific Ocean and the other on the street. Great people watching here. Surfers, dogs, bikes.
We started at the Monarch Trail in Natural Bridges park(a seasonal specialty) and ended at the light house.
Perfect sunset viewing at the park.

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank joni h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

6 mile round trip,from near the Municipal Wharf. Walk past the Lighthouse, numerous surfers, otters, pelicans, a dog beach, Natural Bridges State Beach to watch Egrets, wading birds, walk the Monarch Butterfly boardwalk, and watch a sunset over the ocean! Santa Cruz is such a quirky place it's always fun just to peole watch too! There are plenty of parking spots along the drive, or you can park on side roads, and walk just as much as you want of this ocean front drive. Restrooms are near the Lighthouse. Entertaining and beautiful coastal walk. Best weather usually in afternoons.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank 2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews