We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Value, Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Inn

Harbor Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Inn
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Napa, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. This is an older place that has been renovated in a charming way. The location is convenient to the harbor, good restaurants and the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful. We did not notice traffic noise mentioned in some reviews. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Napajohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife found this place by accident on line as we were looking for a place to stay in Santa Cruz, to our surprise all I can say is Wow Wow Wow, we had a room on the bottom floor of the main house, it was great it was clean and cozy way better than any motel we have stayed at had full bath/Microwave/ flat screen TV, I read the reviews earlier, about the noisy rooms by the road, for us this was not the case we slept with the window open had a room facing the street had no problem with noise. Stores and restaurants were close I needed a small part for my car unexpectedly, parts store less than 2 miles, along with Supermarket. We were close to the harbor, we even found a new beach we haven't seen before, on the harbor along with a light house we took a walk on it, it was a nice sunset walk. Juanita was great very helpful, I have read some of the negative reviews, still trying to figure out what people want in a place to stay.
For myself and my wife this place was perfect. Had a great trip and will come back again and again no more hassling with motels when we visit. :)

Room Tip: make sure your room has a bathroom in the room as I understand some rooms don't have private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I wanted to love the Habor Inn, really I did. My husband and I stayed for two weeks after our daughter and son in law had thier new baby. The staff was very pleasant and went above and beyond to help us. After being in our first room for 3 nights my back was complaining and the walls were closing in. I believe the first room was #306. It was in the 1 story building. The room was too dark for my taste. We were shown other rooms we could move to and chose a bright sunny room in the two story building. All rooms have a small fridge and a microwave and coffee maker. Everything just seems a bit tired. I must say the rooms are amazing clean. There is an undertone of musty in the building. Not sure what that's about. There is also a strong odor of citrus cleaning products. I read a sign when we checked in that said there were no refunds. Since I had just paid for two weeks we were stuck. I would have moved if I could have gotten my money refunded. The location was awesome but as others have said there is alot of road noise. Perhaps I'm just too picky. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babscanfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This place is quite charming and that was one of the reasons why we chose to stay here. Given that we were visiting during the peak summer season, prices in the area were astronomical. Compared to others, Harbor Inn was relatively reasonable. The room is quite basic, but ours did have a nice remodeled bathroom and a small kitchenette. It's several blocks from the beach and although the Boardwalk is a little further, I'd recommend trying to walk it (about 30 minutes) than battling the congested traffic and fighting for parking.

This place has lots of potential. The rooms could be remodeled a bit without losing its rustic charms (ours had a slight musty smell.) Offering a continential breakfast instead of suggesting the over-crowded Harbor Cafe to guests would have increased my rating. If you just need a place to rest your head in a decent central location, this isn't a bad option.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed in annex unit beside main house and were very happy with our large, studio-like room. Recently renovated and very clean. Nice bathroom and cute kitchen area with small fridge, microwave and sink. Very cozy and comfortable to spend a week. Only block's walk up the road is GREAT breakfast/lunch restaurant -- Harbor Cafe. Had Father's Day brunch and returned almost every morning after that! Location is central to Capitola and Boardwalk,as well as Harbor and great restaurants (Crow's Nest and Aldo's). Can book a whale watch almost across the street -- awesome! Some road traffic noise because of good location. Manager, Juanita, very friendly and helpful. Plan to make this our "home" on our annual family visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riwanderer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, relaxing, off the beaten track, place to stay near the beach. We are from Sacramento and had a rare weekend to ourselves. The Harbor Inn offered an authentic, Santa Cruz experience without the busy "beach scene" at the best time of year - Fall. Our non-rushed, weekend featured a drive up the north coast, enjoying nature's wonders and even picking fresh, organic strawberries. When we returned, we sat together in the garden area with a bottle of wine. The owners, Chris and Claire greeted us warmly, while each went about their business of making sure the grounds stayed well maintained. The evenings were quiet, and the beds were "the best ever," according to my wife. We enjoyed a nice breakfast nearby, and accomplished our goal of "Real R&R." We would recommend the Harbor Inn to anyone looking to take a "time out" for a week or weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Really lovely room with lots of light and space. A way out of the cebtre but in a nice quiet residential area. 20 minute walk to a lovely beach and another 10 onto the boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caztravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
1.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#25 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#30 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Property: Harbor Inn
Address: 645 7th Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-2702
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing