We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe on Green Street Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 10, 2007

The reviewers here are quite accurate in their glowing praise of this charming B and B. Close to downtown, but tucked away on a hill, the Adobe and Green is a quiet, comfortable inn.

My husband, daughter, and I stayed in the only upstairs room, which had one large bed, a pull-out sofa in the small entry area off the main room, and a large bath with shower only. I didn't see the other rooms, but ours had every amenity, including a DVD player built into the tv, and speakers for an iPod.

The innkeepers have taken the time to write an extensive and very helpful guidebook detailing local restaurants and attractions.
We took them up on their suggestion to try Kianti's Restaurant in town, and it was exactly as described.

The innkeepers also make it a point to remain out of sight and unobtrusive in keeping with their philosophy, stated in their guidebook, that guests deserve the utmost privacy and independence. We appreciated having both.

The Adobe is immaculate. Breakfast was just fine. Plenty of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, pastries, and delicious hard-boiled eggs.
There is a computer available for guests, along with a good selection of DVD's and magazines.

If you are planning a visit to Santa Cruz, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tkttoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 226 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2007

Stayed here for my wife's birthday after reading the good reviews. Boy, were they right. This little place is an oasis in the middle of a wonderful city. Every detail of this place is thought out. The gardens and the rooms are beautiful. the innkeepers have written a very thoughtful guide to restaurants, sights and activities. We have stayed at a few other places in Santa Cruz before and they don't even come close. Went one night for dinner at Malabar Cafe. Wonderful Sri Lankan food! We're already making plans for a return visit. Thanks Adobe!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RaisnArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Adobe on night. We don't normally stay at B&B's because we have been dissapointed in the past. Fortunately, this is not like any other B&B we've stayed at. The decor is simple and beautiful. The owners have focused on amenities and little details and have organized the guests stay so they have a maximum of privacy and independence. There are no frilly fabrics or doilies at this oasis of good taste. The beds are the best we've ever slept in. The location is quiet and set back from noise, but is a three block walk to all the shops and eateries downtown. Breakfast is self-serve and simple (fine with us). There are no minimum stay requirements any time and their midweek rates (we paid $119 in the Retreat room) are a bargain. This place restores my faith in B&B's.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travelnjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

My wife and I spent two weekdays at this wonderful little inn just above downtown Santa Cruz. Our stay couldn't have been more relaxing. Our room was $119 midweek and everything about this place was clean, prepared, and thoughful. The old adobe architecture exudes a calm and quiet that fills this place with just the right balance of elegance and comfort. We wish we could move in forever. We won't stay anywhere else in Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank allegory-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Pros: Lots of privacy, beautiful house and grounds, best room is the Look-Out room on the second floor, walking distance to downtown, free access to movies, books, magazines.

Cons: The breakfast isn't very good; poor quality.

Elbasan, Albania

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank peppercoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

We found this B&B through tripadvisor while planning out our vacation in California. We selected a B&B over a hotel, as we had one night to spend in Santa Cruz. This surpassed our expectations, because we were going solely on personal reviews and the website. The house/rooms were clean, well-decorated, and cozy. The owners/innkeepers were available if needed, but not a constant presence. The room was provided with a guide of things to do in Santa Cruz that was from a local's perspective. We highly recommend Adobe on Green to anyone fortunate enough to be over their way.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alex_lunchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband and I chose this wonderful oasis in the center of the city because of what we've read on TripAdvisor. The experience was even better. We stay at many B&B's here and abroad, but have never felt so comfortable and at-home as here. The inkeeper here keeps his distance and affords his guests a lot of privacy. The decor and furnishings are understated and elegant, nothing here is overdone. Even the breakfast is simple, healthy and just right. The location is the best we've found in Santa Cruz: just outside downtown so it's quiet but close enough to walk to dinner. Comfort, simplicity, quality & beauty...that sums up our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Websterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Inn
Babbling Brook Inn
#1 of 15 in Santa Cruz
365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mission Inn
Mission Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe on Green Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe on Green Street Inn

Address: 103 Green St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-3723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $129 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms: 4, Wifi: Free, Beds: Queens, Parking: On-site, Breakfast: No Breakfast, Minimum Stay: 3 nights, - The Best Location in Santa Cruz. Perched on a hill three blocks from downtown shops, restaurants, cafes, and cinemas. The atmosphere is restful and richly understated. We strive to keep our guests feeling nurtured by the comfort, the decor, and the amenities we offer. Those who find us usually wish they could stay longer. Every room at the Adobe has a beautiful private bathroom. Every room is tastefully decorated with art and antiques, and features a DVD player. Every room features hand made natural latex beds for the best night's rest. Off street parking and an off the street location makes your stay easy and very quiet. We specialize in casual comfort, privacy, and beautiful surroundings. The Adobe on Green Street is a cross between a charming country Inn and a sophisticated urban boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adobe On Green Street Hotel Santa Cruz
Adobe On Green Street Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing