We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very average to poor facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, very average to poor facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pros: The Ocean Echo Inn sit on a great property and wonderful beach location away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown Santa Cruz. It is in quiet residential surroundings. I stayed in Room 4 which was supposed to be one of the two best rooms. The Cons: It is very dated and not worth the $245 we paid each night. Yes there was a basic kitchen, a deck and a grilling area (charcoal, bring your own). Because it is so dated I am sure it is difficult to keep it clean. However, no excuse.
My understanding by the managers, Mark and Betty, who departed last week, was that this place is owned by three generation hoteliers in Santa Cruz. They should be reassessing how much they charge and invest in the place. The inside furniture is sparse,the patio furniture is all mismatched and essentially rusted, the bathrooms dirty.

My biggest disappointment is all the great reviews on this site which was my deciding factor. I usually find reviewers more accurate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We regret that your experience here at Ocean Echo had both positive and negative aspects. As new Managers, our goal is to provide the ultimate in guest service, and to also ensure that even though the property is older, that it is well-maintained, and most importantly, impeccably clean.
As we are in the process of extensive upgrading and updating the entire property, we would be pleased to have you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    63
    34
    21
    21
See reviews for
84
113
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is an over-priced (very) at best camping/hunting cabin. The floor boards appear to have been chewed by rats-not to mention the ceiling. Dirty linens, dirty floors (and walls), moldy bathroom, bugs, I could go on and on. Could they really not even sweep the patio? Arriving in the middle of the night with 3 small children we were shocked and appalled by the condition of this "cottage". The pictures on the Internet absolutely do not reflect the conditions of this property. We travel frequently and this is the worst room we have EVER seen. Had we paid $70 for this room, the condition might be justified but I literally feel like this place is stealing my money. Absolutely NOT a $250 room. When your 5 year old is asking to move to move to another hotel at 1am, you know it's bad. And don't believe the remodeling claims, unless they are doing it one set of blinds at a time-yes, even the blinds in the same room are different ages of dilapidation. This "cottage" should be removed from the rental pool. I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rgemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Ocean Echo Inn. I booked the room a month prior for my husband as a quick bday getaway. We brought along our almost 2 year old. VERY child friendly place! The manager was so nice and welcoming. The location was perfect, just a 30 sec walk to the beach. The rooms were a little outdated but very clean. I'm SUPER picky about where we stay with our toddler. This totally went above and beyond with a larger small fridge and microwave. Another plus was the bottle opener in our room :) I am definitely coming back and have already been recommending it to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsborojenidebussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We're so glad you had a great time! Thanks for the review. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family checked into the hotel without really knowing what we would get...it was a last minute trip. We ended up staying an additional two days. The hospitality was excellent and we really liked the laid-back cottage feel. It is sixty steps to a wonderful beach. We had a couple of bon fires and fell asleep in the evening to the crashing waves. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! Glad you had a great time. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My room was clean and easy to access. I stayed for 2 nights and felt comfortable enough to work on my laptop, read, and take walks on the beach. The location is perfect for walking or driving to other places of interest. Mark and Betty, the managers, made the stay even better! Being here felt like a real get-away and I would do it again!

Room Tip: Get a good view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the review - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a very deceiving motel / cottages. The place is just an old house that they tried to fix and make as a motel. We had a room in the upstairs of the house and it is very disgusting. It was like going into an old house with a bathroom in the bedroom. The tv was old, the carpet is striped. Gross I didn't even want to take my sandals off. It smells like an old house, the stairway to get upstairs is very narrow and curvy. Very hard to bring your luggage into the room. This is not a 4 star motel. The breakfast is just a hand wrapped bagel. The beach is about 2 blocks away and maybe you can get a glimpse of the ocean if you are lucky. There is no place to go out to eat around there. I would not recommend anyone to stay there . I will never again! And we travel a lot. There is no air conditioning , you have to leave the window open and the blinds on the window are old,metal blinds that do not even close tight because of the dents in them.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! It is not what you think or what thy are trying to show you. It's AWEFUL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 272Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are sorry for your disappointment in our accommodations. We definitely are not a cookie-cutter hotel. As the saying goes "you can't please all the people all the time"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. It was a short walk to the beach, yet fairly close to many restaurants. The hosts were very gracious and helpful. We also enjoyed the ping pong table. We loved our deck with a view. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in #12, and absolutely loved our balcony and view of the ocean. This room has been co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay & our new ping pong table! Thanks for the review - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.0 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Property: Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing