We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your time outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our first big family vacation. We spent 4 days and 3 nights at Ocean Echo Inn. We were very excited to be getting away with our three kids- 3mo, 2yr and 13yrs. We stayed in Cottage 3. The owners were very nice and showed us to our room and were very helpful when we needed ANYTHING at any time of day. Our room had a private balcony and we could see a small portion of the beach from the view. However, if the room didn't have this balcony, I think we would have all gone a bit stir crazy---The cottage was VERY dark.... So, we enjoyed the balcony and the BBQ and made all our meals at home. That being said, the kitchen was super dated and old, but functional. We booked this room because it had a separate King master with the main room that had a twin bed and a twin bed pull out. We had our babies sleep in the room with us and our 13 yr old slept in the main room. It made it a bit difficult because the main room was HIS room. So if he wanted to sleep in, we had to tip toe into the kitchen, etc. Also, his day bed was the ONLY main seating area in the room, so we all piled onto his bed to watch some tv at night.

Overall, this place was super cute on the outside and VERY easy on the eyes. Inside was a bit dated, but we booked this place because of the easy access to the beach. It was literally a couple steps away from our place. We spent most of our time on the private beach and cooked our dinners at the cottage. So because we really did spend most our time on the beach, the look of the cottage inside wasn't a main concern. We just wanted to get away and enjoy being outside at the beach. And we did that! EVERY DAY! It's a great little place to get away and enjoy the beautoful weather.

I know the owners are working on updating a couple of the rooms and I hope they continue to update the rest. This place has WONDERFUL potential and gave us a wonderful family getaway.

Also..... they have beach toys for kids to use at the beach.

With all this being said.... my husband thought that the 300 dollars a night was a bit much because of how dated it seemed inside. I disagree, however, because of all the amenities. Since we were able to cook meals, we saved a lot of money we would have spent out at restaurants. It was also nice not to have to load up all the kids over and over to go out and eat. THAT in itself was worth the money!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a private balcony- that way it won't seem so dark inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madelinek8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit us again. We do have one cottage that is a bit larger than the one you stayed in which might be a better choice for next time. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 344 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Since finding out about Ocean Echo, we've stayed 3 times, & when my kids wanted to go the beach for their summer break, of course we stayed at Ocean Echo!! & it was another great stay! The proximity is fantastic! & the kids had a great time.
Since we had the kids, we stayed in a cottage, so it had a kitchen & a private patio. That was fantastic & really helped on the cost, since we didn't have to eat out.
The only thing I can say was a slight bummer, was the bedroom didn't have a door, lol. But otherwise we had an awesome stay, & will come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibliomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for your review! Glad your kids enjoyed their beach time - see you next time! By the way - some of our cottages have doors on the bedrooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great cabins and friendly owners, safe and quiet location. Clean and a two minute walk to a friendly, safe beach. Nice grocery store nearby. 15 minute walk to the Boardwalk, skate park or downtown. We highly recommend this!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 was great. Sleeps 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We're glad you chose Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages for your California vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a quaint and comforting place that feels like home away from home. If you are looking for a 5 star luxurious resort this is not it - but equally relaxing if not more.

I stayed here back in May and loved the location, the charm of the hotel, and the proximity to the beach. I stayed in cottage #6 and have never stayed in any other room. This one was supposed to sleep 6 I believe.

The location of the cottage is excellent as you can walk down to the beach and watch the sunset, build a fire or swim if you don't mind chilly water. The cove is pretty protected so kids can go body surfing or jump off the rocks into the water if they choose to.

The cottage has one bathroom which was perfect for 2 people of course. 6 people may have been challenging to accomodate since the bathroom is in the room with the two day beds, so you would have had to disturb the people sleeping if you were staying in the other room with the Queen bed.

The Cottage was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is spacious enough to cook a full meal if you choose to, and there is a BBQ if you want to BBQ food. We sat on the deck and had our morning coffee which was very relaxing and a quiet space.

Parking is a small area but there is plenty of room to park for guests. Just make sure you know how to parallel park and how to reverse in smaller spaces and you will be fine. (At least you are not paying an additional $25 per day for parking like many hotels)

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking to relax and find a little getaway.

I don't really understand some of the other reviews - people complaining about the remote? Why would you come to a hotel on the beach if you are going to sit indoors and watch tv??? Then just stay home. The owner is very nice and accommodating so if you need anything he will be there to help. I've stayed in many 5 star resorts in many parts of the world so I am not new to travel - this is a great little place. I highly recommend it. I would probably come here just by myself too, just to have a quiet little getaway. It's perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantalM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks so much for review! Glad you were able to relax. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this conveniently located Inn in May 2013. We stayed in Cottage
6, which was a little bigger than we needed, but all they had available at the time. It could have
slept 6, and had a nice full kitchen. Everything was clean, bed was comfy, and place was quiet.
The manager Mark (owner?) stopped by when we were out on the cottage's nice deck to make sure everything was good, which it was. A great thing about this place is that once you get there, you don't have to get in your car until you leave. The semi private, wind protected beach is literally a ten second walk away, and we easily walked to the Ocean view Crow's Nest restaurant in about 10 minutes. Very relaxing, awesome place!! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: A welcome respite to the loud, overcrowded and overpriced motels adjacent to the boardwalk. For a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed yourselves, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The good:
Very cute, and nicely maintained from the street. Loved the swing on the front lawn, you can see the ocean from the swing.

We paid a total of $272.00, which included the $25.00 per night dog fee.

What did we get for almost 300 bucks on a Monday night?

1. Cottage number 10. Looks like a little gingerbread/light house....sadly the side yard was disgusting...mostly dead plants, and weeds growing everywhere....lots of spider webs on the wall, glass table filthy, mis matched chairs, one lounge chair with old dirty cushion. The barbecue still had old corn husks in it and garbage stacked underneath in the overflow bin. Pretty clean in doors, however...the walls in the bathroom had hair stuck to it...so disgusting. The kitchen, musty smelling, old, and mis matchedd....I LOVE vintage things, so I am not being snotty about mis matched things...this was just dirty old stuff in a room.

We all stubbed our toes on the step down into the main living room area that had futon for our son.

Upstairs was the hardest bed I have ever slept on in my life...like concrete. The TV was teeny tiny. The blinds bent and dirty.

This place has SOOOO much potential, I love little inn's with sweet owners who love to have guests over. The owners were nice enough to come and clean out the BBQ...thank you for that...however at almost 300 bucks...NEVER gonna go back.

We are AVID travelers to SC and REALLY wanted to review this place as our new home away from home.....sadly we feel taken advantage of.

BTW your housekeepers were drinking beer in their car and when they left, the guy housekeeper took his beer and drove away :(...aweful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissGoldenPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry you were disappointed in your stay. If only we could please everyone . . . .

About the yard - the yard has been weeded and the two small dead plants have been removed. Since this cottage is dog-friendly, it's tough to keep the grass green for obvious reasons. If anyone can tell us way to keep the spiders at bay, we're all ears!!

We're sorry you stubbed your toe on the step - that is frustrating! Not sure how we can fix that. We're open to suggestions!

As for your accusation of our housekeepers drinking and driving - all I can say is NO WAY!! Our housekeepers have been with us for eight years. We know their character, and honestly we find it offensive that you would publicly slander them in this manner. If you think you saw someone drinking and driving it would have been more appropriate for you to have reported it to the police.

We have surveillance cameras all over our property to ensure our guests' safety.

Our property is not your average cookie-cutter hotel, and obviously not for everyone. We hope you can find your ideal Santa Cruz "home away from home". Sorry it's not us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 days while I ran a half marathon in Capitola. This place is so cute and quaint! I wasn't expecting it to be so well maintained considering how old it is but I was pleasantly surprised. The view is amazing and my husband and I loved the main deck because it looked out to the beach and ocean and allowed us to soak up some much needed sunshine and just relax!

The room and bedding were clean and the shower had great water pressure! My only complaint is the mattress was really hard and not comfortable at all. The pillows were very soft and comfy though!
We will definitely stay at Ocean Echo next time we are in Santa Cruz!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Inn
Babbling Brook Inn
#1 of 15 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $174 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing