We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
242
77
43
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
77
43
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages sunny cove private beach the ping pong table mini kitchen continental breakfast nice deck the main house pleasure point yogurt crows nest short walk to the beach great weekend quiet location relaxing stay hear the waves bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 408 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Since finding out about Ocean Echo, we've stayed 3 times, & when my kids wanted to go the beach for their summer break, of course we stayed at Ocean Echo!! & it was another great stay! The proximity is fantastic! & the kids had a great time.
Since we had the kids, we stayed in a cottage, so it had a kitchen & a private patio. That was fantastic & really helped on the cost, since we didn't have to eat out.
The only thing I can say was a slight bummer, was the bedroom didn't have a door, lol. But otherwise we had an awesome stay, & will come back again.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibliomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for your review! Glad your kids enjoyed their beach time - see you next time! By the way - some of our cottages have doors on the bedrooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great cabins and friendly owners, safe and quiet location. Clean and a two minute walk to a friendly, safe beach. Nice grocery store nearby. 15 minute walk to the Boardwalk, skate park or downtown. We highly recommend this!

Room tip: Cabin 6 was great. Sleeps 6.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We're glad you chose Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages for your California vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a quaint and comforting place that feels like home away from home. If you are looking for a 5 star luxurious resort this is not it - but equally relaxing if not more.

I stayed here back in May and loved the location, the charm of the hotel, and the proximity to the beach. I stayed in cottage #6 and have never stayed in any other room. This one was supposed to sleep 6 I believe.

The location of the cottage is excellent as you can walk down to the beach and watch the sunset, build a fire or swim if you don't mind chilly water. The cove is pretty protected so kids can go body surfing or jump off the rocks into the water if they choose to.

The cottage has one bathroom which was perfect for 2 people of course. 6 people may have been challenging to accomodate since the bathroom is in the room with the two day beds, so you would have had to disturb the people sleeping if you were staying in the other room with the Queen bed.

The Cottage was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is spacious enough to cook a full meal if you choose to, and there is a BBQ if you want to BBQ food. We sat on the deck and had our morning coffee which was very relaxing and a quiet space.

Parking is a small area but there is plenty of room to park for guests. Just make sure you know how to parallel park and how to reverse in smaller spaces and you will be fine. (At least you are not paying an additional $25 per day for parking like many hotels)

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking to relax and find a little getaway.

I don't really understand some of the other reviews - people complaining about the remote? Why would you come to a hotel on the beach if you are going to sit indoors and watch tv??? Then just stay home. The owner is very nice and accommodating so if you need anything he will be there to help. I've stayed in many 5 star resorts in many parts of the world so I am not new to travel - this is a great little place. I highly recommend it. I would probably come here just by myself too, just to have a quiet little getaway. It's perfect.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantalM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks so much for review! Glad you were able to relax. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this conveniently located Inn in May 2013. We stayed in Cottage
6, which was a little bigger than we needed, but all they had available at the time. It could have
slept 6, and had a nice full kitchen. Everything was clean, bed was comfy, and place was quiet.
The manager Mark (owner?) stopped by when we were out on the cottage's nice deck to make sure everything was good, which it was. A great thing about this place is that once you get there, you don't have to get in your car until you leave. The semi private, wind protected beach is literally a ten second walk away, and we easily walked to the Ocean view Crow's Nest restaurant in about 10 minutes. Very relaxing, awesome place!! Highly recommend!

Room tip: A welcome respite to the loud, overcrowded and overpriced motels adjacent to the boardwalk. For a few extra dollars here, get some real relaxation, a good value, and be 100 feet from a greatbeach which allows bonfires at night!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed yourselves, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The good:
Very cute, and nicely maintained from the street. Loved the swing on the front lawn, you can see the ocean from the swing.

We paid a total of $272.00, which included the $25.00 per night dog fee.

What did we get for almost 300 bucks on a Monday night?

1. Cottage number 10. Looks like a little gingerbread/light house....sadly the side yard was disgusting...mostly dead plants, and weeds growing everywhere....lots of spider webs on the wall, glass table filthy, mis matched chairs, one lounge chair with old dirty cushion. The barbecue still had old corn husks in it and garbage stacked underneath in the overflow bin. Pretty clean in doors, however...the walls in the bathroom had hair stuck to it...so disgusting. The kitchen, musty smelling, old, and mis matchedd....I LOVE vintage things, so I am not being snotty about mis matched things...this was just dirty old stuff in a room.

We all stubbed our toes on the step down into the main living room area that had futon for our son.

Upstairs was the hardest bed I have ever slept on in my life...like concrete. The TV was teeny tiny. The blinds bent and dirty.

This place has SOOOO much potential, I love little inn's with sweet owners who love to have guests over. The owners were nice enough to come and clean out the BBQ...thank you for that...however at almost 300 bucks...NEVER gonna go back.

We are AVID travelers to SC and REALLY wanted to review this place as our new home away from home.....sadly we feel taken advantage of.

BTW your housekeepers were drinking beer in their car and when they left, the guy housekeeper took his beer and drove away :(...aweful!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissGoldenPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry you were disappointed in your stay. If only we could please everyone . . . .

About the yard - the yard has been weeded and the two small dead plants have been removed. Since this cottage is dog-friendly, it's tough to keep the grass green for obvious reasons. If anyone can tell us way to keep the spiders at bay, we're all ears!!

We're sorry you stubbed your toe on the step - that is frustrating! Not sure how we can fix that. We're open to suggestions!

As for your accusation of our housekeepers drinking and driving - all I can say is NO WAY!! Our housekeepers have been with us for eight years. We know their character, and honestly we find it offensive that you would publicly slander them in this manner. If you think you saw someone drinking and driving it would have been more appropriate for you to have reported it to the police.

We have surveillance cameras all over our property to ensure our guests' safety.

Our property is not your average cookie-cutter hotel, and obviously not for everyone. We hope you can find your ideal Santa Cruz "home away from home". Sorry it's not us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews