We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
237
77
42
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
77
42
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages sunny cove bagels and cream cheese nice deck mini kitchen continental breakfast patio furniture home away from home beach access bed was very comfortable nice stay capitola unit boardwalk motel proximity cliffs
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 402 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The good part is that there is a tiny view of the ocean but only in specific rooms. I also unlike some like the fact that it is an old building with floors that lean in different directions. The problem I had was the management. We had a TV in the bedroom and in the living room, only the living room worked. The one in the bedroom had a problem and when we reported it the owner not just someone who worked there but the actual owner she acted like we were crazy and it was clear she thought we didn't know what we were talking about. She reluctantly had her husband come and check it and he supposedly fixed it. When we returned to the room that evening we checked and it seemed to work so we went about our way and when it was time to go to bed the TV came on but it was very fuzzy and the remote wouldn't control the TV. When we checked out again we told the guy at the counter (now a worker not the owner) and he said he would pass on the message but seemed to also be very disinterested. While driving home I received a voicemail from the owner telling me we had it on radio and not TV so that was the problem (calling me a liar or an idiot not sure which). I left another message for the owner and as yet have not heard back from her. Also the parking was not great. I would not go back again nor recommend this place because the cost was way too high for what you get.

Room Tip: Do not bring a lot of stuff, you will likely have to carry it (and not easliy roll it).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

We're sorry you were dissatisfied in your stay. We have fixed the television issue. Our property is definitely not your average "cookie-cutter" hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everything about this place is AMAZING! We loved the private little cottage like rooms, which were equipped with literally everything you could need. Great location, close to the boardwalk and Capitola, very nice owners, right by the beach... I mean what more could you ask for? Our only wish was that we had a few more days to spend there.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there would be a bad room here.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenniffer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! Next time stay a little longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Maybe we got our hopes up after reading the wonderful reviews. Granted we had one of the smaller and cheaper rooms, it was tucked away in a long, narrow hallway. The bathroom was very cold and dated. Up a couple steps was the sitting area with an old futon, chairs and table, mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Then, the bedroom with tv. The bed was comfy.

The continental breakfast was slim pickings. It was in a room no bigger than our bathroom and consisted of bagels, yogurt, bread, apples and bananas. No where to sit unless you wanted to carry you food outside and around the corner to the patio.

The place wasn't bad, but for what we payed(170 US dollars taxes in) we expected a lot more. Overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here with with girlfriend for our anniversary. The owners seem to take a lot of pride in this place and it shows. I was greeted with a smile and even introduced to his wife, who was doing some landscaping work on the property.

The cottage we stayed in was very very nice. The ceiling was high which made the room feel much larger and it had a full kitchen which we used to cook a meal for the evening. The grounds were pretty quit even with some remodeling they were doing.

The only thing about the room which was a miss was the shower. It was an older unit, with the shower head not beng very adjustable and the water pressure very high, which led to the hot water running out in about 5 mintes or so.

The Location is perfect. It's off the beaten path and is right next to a great beach that many people and tourists don't know about. You can sometimes lay out there all by yourself and it is legal to make a fire at night if you'd like.

Overall I will definitely make it out here again for a 3rd trip when heading to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the site before booking so you can see the exact cottage or room you are getting, each one is different and has it's own little perks!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marino209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks so much for review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Ocean Echo Inn, just steps away from the beach and tide pools. The location was perfect and so much more affordable than other hotels near the beach. We loved having a refridgerator and small kitchen. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews