We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
233
76
42
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
76
42
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessunny covebagels and cream cheesenice deckmini kitchencontinental breakfastpatio furniturehome away from homebeach accessbed was very comfortablenice staycapitolaunitboardwalkmotelproximitycliffs
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 397 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Maybe we got our hopes up after reading the wonderful reviews. Granted we had one of the smaller and cheaper rooms, it was tucked away in a long, narrow hallway. The bathroom was very cold and dated. Up a couple steps was the sitting area with an old futon, chairs and table, mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Then, the bedroom with tv. The bed was comfy.

The continental breakfast was slim pickings. It was in a room no bigger than our bathroom and consisted of bagels, yogurt, bread, apples and bananas. No where to sit unless you wanted to carry you food outside and around the corner to the patio.

The place wasn't bad, but for what we payed(170 US dollars taxes in) we expected a lot more. Overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here with with girlfriend for our anniversary. The owners seem to take a lot of pride in this place and it shows. I was greeted with a smile and even introduced to his wife, who was doing some landscaping work on the property.

The cottage we stayed in was very very nice. The ceiling was high which made the room feel much larger and it had a full kitchen which we used to cook a meal for the evening. The grounds were pretty quit even with some remodeling they were doing.

The only thing about the room which was a miss was the shower. It was an older unit, with the shower head not beng very adjustable and the water pressure very high, which led to the hot water running out in about 5 mintes or so.

The Location is perfect. It's off the beaten path and is right next to a great beach that many people and tourists don't know about. You can sometimes lay out there all by yourself and it is legal to make a fire at night if you'd like.

Overall I will definitely make it out here again for a 3rd trip when heading to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the site before booking so you can see the exact cottage or room you are getting, each one is different and has it's own little perks!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marino209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks so much for review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Ocean Echo Inn, just steps away from the beach and tide pools. The location was perfect and so much more affordable than other hotels near the beach. We loved having a refridgerator and small kitchen. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As part of our very last minute Valentine's Day wknd travel plans, we booked this small hotel for 2 nights. Based on the reviews I'd read, I kept my expectations at a minumum since the reviews were so mixed. However, we were very pleased with our stay! The location is great: not too close to the hustle of the touristy boardwalk/wharf/downtown SC, but still a short drive away should you want to visit those areas. The best part of the location is its a stone's throw away from a small beach. it's lovely :) Also this is walking distance to 2 cute eateries: Star Bene and this adorable cafe housed in a Dutch Windmill shaped building.

Our room was expectedly small (just like the pictures on the internet) but it was perfectly fine to sleep. They provide continental breakfast of bagels, croissants, cream cheese, and some fruit. Just enough to kick start your day.

If you are looking for something affordable and comfortable, with a little character, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelHaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited for my Bday, & we had a great stay.

We stayed in cottage #4 & over all, it was ok. The hot water kept turning on & off, so we had to shower really fast, & keep the water indirectly on us. Also, the duvet had, what I hope was, chocolate on it. But the managers were really nice & switched it out for us right away.

The cottage was roomy & had a full kitchen, which would come in handy if we stayed more than a cpl days, to save on eating out.

The closeness to Sunny Cove & the uniqueness of Ocean Echo will bring me back, even w/the little bumps we had this time. The managers Mark & Betty are awesome & really seem to care about us & our visit!

Thanx for a a wonderful Bday!! I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibliomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for your review! So glad you chose to celebrate your birthday with us!
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews