We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
233
76
42
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
76
42
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessunny covebagels and cream cheesenice deckmini kitchencontinental breakfastpatio furniturehome away from homebeach accessbed was very comfortablenice staycapitolaunitboardwalkmotelproximitycliffs
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 397 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As part of our very last minute Valentine's Day wknd travel plans, we booked this small hotel for 2 nights. Based on the reviews I'd read, I kept my expectations at a minumum since the reviews were so mixed. However, we were very pleased with our stay! The location is great: not too close to the hustle of the touristy boardwalk/wharf/downtown SC, but still a short drive away should you want to visit those areas. The best part of the location is its a stone's throw away from a small beach. it's lovely :) Also this is walking distance to 2 cute eateries: Star Bene and this adorable cafe housed in a Dutch Windmill shaped building.

Our room was expectedly small (just like the pictures on the internet) but it was perfectly fine to sleep. They provide continental breakfast of bagels, croissants, cream cheese, and some fruit. Just enough to kick start your day.

If you are looking for something affordable and comfortable, with a little character, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelHaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited for my Bday, & we had a great stay.

We stayed in cottage #4 & over all, it was ok. The hot water kept turning on & off, so we had to shower really fast, & keep the water indirectly on us. Also, the duvet had, what I hope was, chocolate on it. But the managers were really nice & switched it out for us right away.

The cottage was roomy & had a full kitchen, which would come in handy if we stayed more than a cpl days, to save on eating out.

The closeness to Sunny Cove & the uniqueness of Ocean Echo will bring me back, even w/the little bumps we had this time. The managers Mark & Betty are awesome & really seem to care about us & our visit!

Thanx for a a wonderful Bday!! I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibliomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for your review! So glad you chose to celebrate your birthday with us!
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay that is close to the ocean and off the beaten track. The rooms could use minor modernization, but overall, the room was accommodating, and the balcony was perfect for a couple having a glass of wine watching the sunset.

Room Tip: Room 12 has the best ocean view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review - we're always happy to provide an amazing sunset!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed her for one night mid-week on our way to our northern California from San Diego. What a great find!! We stayed in a room in the main inn and it was very clean, cutely decorated and very cozy. Mark and Betty, the managers were beyond friendly and provided us with some dishware to borrow for our take out dinner. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker in our room was an added bonus! The whole property is gorgeous and I look forward to going back and staying in one of the cottages for a few nights! Thank you Mark and Betty!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for your review - so glad you enjoyed yourself!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mixed feeling about this place. Not a particularly good value. Especially with the $50 per night dog fee. Bur they do take pets.
While it is cool to stay in an old farm water towe -r it is small and worn on the inside. The bedroom is up rather treacherous stairs. No reading lamps.

Full kitchen if you want to economize that way.
The nearby beach is perhaps the only near ugly beach on Monterey Bay. Small and covered with the remains of fires.

Room Tip: Didn't check any other rooms/cabins
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews