We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - slow service”
Review of Cafe Limelight

Cafe Limelight
Ranked #137 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Restaurant details
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food - slow service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place serves panini almost exclusively. And the one I had was absolutely delicious. My companion's choice was also great. So the food really is top notch. The only negatives were that the appetizer came at the same time as the entrees, and the service, though really friendly, was very, very slow. Because we were having a leisurely lunch, it didn't really matter, but if you have a limited amount of time, I can see it not being the best choice. Still, the food is really, really good and the atmosphere is very nice, very cozy, and interesting. I really enjoyed this place and I intend to go back. I recommend it highly, although, as stated above, don't go there if you are in any kind of a hurry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the Hummus”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cafe Limelight is casual, intimate and funky. It's a bit like eating over at a friend's house. Always great jazz on the stereo. We have some favorite grilled sandwiches here, but we always get the house-made hummus. It's served with bell peppers, bread, carrots and cucumber. It so so good it's worth trying this place just for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Caesar Salad in the World”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I fell in love with this place initially because of the unparalleled panini. I fell deeper in love when I realized that if you sit outside you can bring your dog and order a treat for your pet from a special dogs' menu. But it's the pace and friendliness of this restaurant that's so special. Owner Farouk likes to know his regular customers, and he greets you like family. Cozy seating, cool jazz, movie nights with a drop-down screen, and a personal touch all make this one of my favorite spots in Santa Cruz.

But it took me a while—I was distracted by the panini (especially the Cheddar, Onion and Cumin)—to find the hidden gems on the menu. The homemade hummus with pita and veggies is the best hummus I've ever had, by a wide margin. And the Caesar salad is a revelation. Farouk does a light dressing. There's nothing heavy or mayo-y or out-of-a-bottle here. He shaves the cheese, so you get big surface area and therefore big flavor on your tongue. And the croutons (panini-grilled wedges of bread, thin and perfect) are rubbed with fresh garlic for a giant burst of flavor. You should absolutely try this place if you haven't already.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KOtraveler234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice ambiance and staff”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food is good but the menu is very limited. cozy atmosphere and nice staff.
The soups are tasty and paninis yummy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank susantreefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little gem with amazing paninis”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I love the paninis here. The salads are very fresh too. It's a cute little restaurant that is decorated very nicely.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Limelight also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Limelight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing