We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always close to everything. Great fresh breakfast..and...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Windsor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always close to everything. Great fresh breakfast..and...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Always close to everything. Great fresh breakfast..and clean eating area. Felt very safe..have stayed here probably 6-7 times. Keep coming back...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Days Inn Santa cruz. We take pride in keeping the hotel clean and being friendly with our guest. We are glad you found our property for we feel that we are perfectly located in the santa cruz area where you are close to just about everything you need. We look forward to being of service to you again next time you are in the santa cruz area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    140
    164
    106
    122
See reviews for
363
119
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The good.......Genuinely nice person checking in guests. Also, good- The elevator worked.

The not so good...... The morning I came down (8AM) breakfast consisted of cereal, coffee and toast. Oh, and a waffle maker.

The bad...... About a 4 inch band of black mold above the shower stall that went on for a few feet. Looks like it has been there a loooooooong time. Overall cleanliness of the bathroom is about like a group bathroom at a campsite. Shower curtain was a foot too long so you stand on it as you shower.....but so did everyone else before you. Ugh.

Get a good price if you stay there. Lower your expectations.

Room Tip: Top floor a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcharb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were a walk in reservation because another hotel that we had reserved in advance was completely inappropriate for our needs. Michael gave us a great rate and room and we managed to settle in within minutes.
This double room was large enough to accomodate our kindercot and came with fridge / microwave and flatscreen tv which we could plug in our usb stick and watch our own material and a/c and a large bathroom.
Breakfast was included and was sufficient and the attendant managing the area was excellent! It was a convenient distance from the boardwalk 10 minutes walk. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SickofBadService2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, September 21, 2015
We work very hard to ensure every guest is taken care of and enjoys a nice, comfortable stay while they are here with us . We attempt to ensure that every guests leaves feeling taken care of and I am glad you did as well. We deeply appreciate the time you have taken to review us and cannot wait until the next time you visit us again at the Days Inn & Suites - Santa Cruz.

Katrina Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I got really disappointed by this hotel. The carpet was stained all over and the smell on the room was disgusting, My wife had the worst night ever in a hotel and after only 1 night here, asked me to check on feedback before getting into any hotel. The horrible smell was very bad and there were no towels at all so had to ask for all required towels, all appliances were disconnected. The pool and even worst, the Jacuzzi were the most horrendous and dirty places with tons for green humidity and who know what else. If you can spend a few more bucks, do it. If you can stand a very outdated and poorly maintained hotel and room, go for it. The breakfast is the cheapest you will find, it's not worth it. Go out and take something else somewhere else. Very old and painful beds. Very old furniture, appliances, etc. Worst days Inn ever for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Gorchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived later in the evening, check in was uneventful and the quality of the hotel was okay. It was noisy at points but for the most part had an enjoyable stay! Great staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing