We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not good either” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
NL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad but not good either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it was because we arrived at night and it was dark, but we didn't feel relaxed. The room was at the end of a long hall and not on the streetside. The view was a parking lot with garbage containers.

The room was very big and not very welcoming. I think it had to do with the cold lights, musty carpet and a curtain that let in too much light.

The bed was clean but still we were itching during the night and didn't sleep well.

Breakfast was average, you didn't miss a thing if you wouldn't go eat something.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate mixed feedback you gave us in your review.
We are already in process of remodeling all our rooms.
We do apologies any inconvienience that may have caused you.
We do hope you give us a second chance if your travel brings you back to santa cruz and i promise you will have great stay.
Please call me or email me if you have any question.Thanks once again.

DaysInn & Suites
scbeachinn@yahoo.com
831-458-9660
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    140
    164
    106
    122
See reviews for
363
119
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

First night we stayed here and it was very clean and comfortable with a clean outdoor pool! The second night we had a room booked next door because of the indoor pool but we ended up not even sleeping there! I Recommend Days in a million times over the one next door!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Its really exciting to have our valued guests take the time to write about their stay. Your comments make us all here at the Days Inn proud that we are doing something right.

We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This motel was the perfect place to stay for a short trip. My aunt is disabled and the room we were given was large to accomodate her wheel chair as well as bathroom amenities to facilitate bathing. The kids loved the pool. The pool area included a hot tub and the area was very clean. Overall the outside and lobby of the building was very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was decent and was inlcuded in the price of the room. The beds were comfortable but need to be updated with newer mattresses.. The sheets were not fitted for the bed and came off easily from the mattress. The sheets were dingy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review. I am happy you had a great stay and I can feel our hard work is working in a positive way.I am glad you were able to enjoy our pool and spa.
I hope we see you soon whenever your travel birngs you back to santa cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are filmmakers with a budget, and Ash and his staff REALLY made a difference. So affable and helpful! We are definitely staying here for our shoot, and bringing out whole crew along!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay here It is always good to hear positive feedback about our team members who take pride in their work and do their best to ensure that our guests have a positive experience
Thank you so much once again and looking forward to see you in third week of november when you have whole your crew coming aswell.Looking forward to see you again.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Breakfast was good. Good price, but the rooms were a bit old on the ground floor. We booked 4 rooms and requested upper floor, but all the them were assigned to ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Me D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate mixed feedback you gave us in your review.
We are already in process of remodeling all our rooms.
The only reason i could think we kept you on bottom floor is if you had requested adjoining rooms and we had those only on bottom floor at the time you checked inn.
We do apologies any inconvienience that may have caused you.
We do hope you give us a second chance if your travel brings you back to santa cruz and i promise you will have great stay.
Please call me or email me if you have any question.Thanks once again.

DaysInn & Suites
scbeachinn@yahoo.com
831-458-9660
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing