We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Oakland
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This motel was the perfect place to stay for a short trip. My aunt is disabled and the room we were given was large to accomodate her wheel chair as well as bathroom amenities to facilitate bathing. The kids loved the pool. The pool area included a hot tub and the area was very clean. Overall the outside and lobby of the building was very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was decent and was inlcuded in the price of the room. The beds were comfortable but need to be updated with newer mattresses.. The sheets were not fitted for the bed and came off easily from the mattress. The sheets were dingy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review. I am happy you had a great stay and I can feel our hard work is working in a positive way.I am glad you were able to enjoy our pool and spa.
I hope we see you soon whenever your travel birngs you back to santa cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    134
    157
    104
    115
See reviews for
350
111
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are filmmakers with a budget, and Ash and his staff REALLY made a difference. So affable and helpful! We are definitely staying here for our shoot, and bringing out whole crew along!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay here It is always good to hear positive feedback about our team members who take pride in their work and do their best to ensure that our guests have a positive experience
Thank you so much once again and looking forward to see you in third week of november when you have whole your crew coming aswell.Looking forward to see you again.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Breakfast was good. Good price, but the rooms were a bit old on the ground floor. We booked 4 rooms and requested upper floor, but all the them were assigned to ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Me D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate mixed feedback you gave us in your review.
We are already in process of remodeling all our rooms.
The only reason i could think we kept you on bottom floor is if you had requested adjoining rooms and we had those only on bottom floor at the time you checked inn.
We do apologies any inconvienience that may have caused you.
We do hope you give us a second chance if your travel brings you back to santa cruz and i promise you will have great stay.
Please call me or email me if you have any question.Thanks once again.

DaysInn & Suites
scbeachinn@yahoo.com
831-458-9660
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Cameron Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Horribly over priced. I got a king suite expecting an actual suite. Not so much. $300 for a room with a king bed. The roman bath/shower functioned poorly and it is not separated from the rest of the room by anything other than the shower curtain. Could not stop the water from coming out of the bath fixture so shower water pressure was negligible. Drain did not work well (standing mid-shin in water by end of shower). Sink drain was broken. Had to use a car key to pop it open so water could drain. Lots of cracked and stained tiles.

Room was touted as being large. It was not.
Room was touted as accomidating four adults, did not say that one "bed" was a fold out chair. Sofa bed was a twin and in poor condition.

Very few positives here. Breakfast buffet selection was good. Lobby was clean. Quiet area with very little street noise. Check in/out was quick. Staff was friendly.

Don't think I will be going back.

Room Tip: They use the term "suite" very losely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It's frustrating and disappointing when a guest has an experience like this, especially when there's not an opportunity during their stay to make things better.We are a family hotel and there is some natural wear and tear on the rooms during very busy summer season. We do everything we can to make sure guests are aware of any cosmetic flaws on the property or in the rooms at the time of check-in.
I would invite any guest staying with us or considering same to contact me personally about any concerns.

Your issue has been addressed to maintainence department and it has been taken care of.
Once again i apologies any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Thank you for positive feedback regarding our staff and our breakfast.

Please feel free to call me or email me if your travel brings you back to santa cruz.

Regards
Ash Vaishnav
scbeachinn@yahoo.com
831-458-9660
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing