We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bargain!”
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    144
    166
    110
    124
See reviews for
372
123
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The prices for this hotel seem to vary greatly, so if you get it for cheap (under 70), it's a good deal, if it goes over 100, then you might want to look at other options. The rooms are fairly nice, the pool area needs major renovation - peeling paint, especially in the hot tubs. The hot tubs are hot, though, which is a nice touch, as too many hotels these days are keeping their hot tubs just slightly warm. The service people are welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tell-u-what-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay and our property.

We have since addressed the issues surrounding the pool area.

Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had great time in Santa Cruz.We are glade we choose. Days inn. We were on bottom floor room which we requested coz we have 2 kids. Nice clean rooms,comfortable beds,good breakfast.
We booked the room over the phone as it was last minute plan.our experience from the moment we spoke to ash to book the room was great as he was very professional and polite. We first called paradox inn but its not walking distance to boardwalk. Everyone one we came across were great,professional and polite specially Ash is too good.we very very much impressed by the service standard.we will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Clean big size room,but not 5 star, walking distance to beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Laura, It is a pleasure to hear from you here on TripAdvisor. We are truly appreciative of your kind words and are thrilled to hear that the service you received while at the Hotel was “extraordinary”. You couldn’t be more right in that guests are our first priority and we want nothing more than for you to enjoy your time with us – whether you’re traveling for business or leisure.Your compliments have been shared with the team. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to santa cruz.

Best Regards
Days Inn & Suites
scbeachinn@yahoo.com
831-458-9660
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel, not far at all from the Boardwalk, or Downtown shopping area. Great breakfast with many choices, the buffet was well stocked and kept clean. When we checked in, my daughter and I were told that we'd been upgraded to the honeymoon suite for our girls weekend getaway. We both had a giggle over that!
The pool and hot tub were clean and well kept. We enjoyed the hot tub very much after a long and wonderful day at the Boardwalk. The walk to the beach area is very manageable, just over a 1/2 mile.
We would return to this hotel and reccomend it for families with small children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We’re thrilled to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your time here at the Hotel.We appreciate you liked our breakfast and the location of our hotel and were able to spend some time in the spa and pool.

Again thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor, and we hope to welcome you and your daughter back very soon.

Warmest regards,
Days Inn & Suites
scbeachinn@yahoo.com
831-458-9660
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is perfect for family vacationers. It is located walking distance from just about anything Santa Cruz has to offer(Boardwalk, beaches and down town). The breakfast has a large assortment of food for every taste bud and like. The staff/manager (Ash) went out of his way to see that our every need was met. More than that, after leaving an item at the hotel he made sure it was returned to us by mail (You dont get service like that often). This is definitely a place we will return to time after time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us!Our ideal location is definitely perfect for everyone coming in sant cruz for beach boardwalk and also downtown.sounds like you had great time out in the neighbourhood.we also appreciate you liked our breakfast .Thank you for saying so manny nice things about our staff and our hotel. i am glad we were able to return the item you left.Your feedback is truly inspirational for our team.
we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#47 of 54 in Santa Cruz
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.7 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing