We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not stay again”
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed every year for about 6 or 7 years for business..the hotel has gone down hill.whoever ordered the super low flow shower heads should be fired..you can`t save water when it takes 3 times longer to get wet and take a shower..the window was broken and the light fixture by the beds worked only occasionally..I could handle the fact that the door to the bathroom was off by an inch on one side because the foundation had settled but the crappy shower with the fluctuating hot and cold and no pressure was the deal breaker..way too much $$ for what we got..should have been charged no more than $39..the front desk guy was great

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank NANCY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solares
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 676 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank JEFFREY K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank PHYLLIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank KRISTIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed in several places in Santa Cruz, and this one is as mediocre as the next. I was expecting a bit more from Days Inn, and the place is very good for the value, but there's certainly no reason to stay here over other standard beach motels in Santa Cruz. The reception staff members were fairly unfriendly (both check-in and check-out, different staff members), which suggests that there isn't much oversight at this place. The strangest thing from my perspective was that there were almost NO outlets in the room, which suggests no interest in upgrading to basic modern conveniences. (We all have devices these days that require charging.... I had to charge my phone in the bathroom next to the sink!) Also, the lock to the balcony door was broken, which meant that the only thing keeping the door locked was an old-fashioned chain. As a male traveling alone, I wasn't bothered, but this seems like basic lack of attention to maintenance. The bedding was updated, which is nice for a beach motel, but truthfully the bed was quite uncomfortable, and I did not sleep well. It is nice that there is free (very basic, low quality) breakfast. But again, there is no reason to stay here over any other beach motel I've stayed in Santa Cruz, apart from the fact that this happened to be the cheapest rate for my visit. I certainly won't avoid this place, as it was clean and comfortable enough, but I won't go out of my way to stay here again.

For those concerned with WiFi, the quality was low. I had difficulty streaming a movie I had rented on my computer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank chillguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way to Big Basin.
The room was spacious but dark and not cozy. The bed was soft and the blanket at the bed was very thin and did not give any warm. The heather was nosy.
The breakfast was ok with waffles and bagels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Sure the price might look good but If your room is near there garbage cans 7am on a wednesday morning wake up from the waste company an if you try to fall back asleep he comes back at 8am for the recycling. Horrible beds, I actually found bed bugs didn't want to tell the guy at the front desk cause he was weird, so I threw off my bedding an tried my best to flick them off. I Will never stay at a days inn ever!

Room Tip: stay away from this place all together!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TG716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $97 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing