We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank god we're only here for one night”
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank god we're only here for one night”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The carpet is frayed, the walls are spackled (or need spackling) but haven't been painted, the bedding is worn through, the plumbing is noisy--I mean really noisy (everytime the neighboring rooms turn on the water or bath there's a loud buzzing sound). I mean, really. For north of $250/night I expect a room that is at least maintained well and clean. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express last year which feels like a four star hotel in comparison.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    144
    166
    110
    124
See reviews for
372
123
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place really does have the ability to be an awesome hotel. The architecture and set-up is great. I personally love courtyard type buildings. In the middle is the pool, twin hot tubs, and fountain. Potted plants give it a tropical feel. All rooms have a balcony. The breakfast area was open, light, and a somewhat decent size. The location, while not right on the beach was about a 10 minute walk to the boardwalk. All the hotel staff I encountered were friendly. However, all that being said, it really can use some updates, new furniture, and a good coat of paint.

Location: Very close to the boardwalk. Walk over a bridge and you are there. We didn't encounter any sketchy people and it felt safe.

Check in and Check out: Don't try to check in early. I'm not sure if it was just a busy time or not but the rooms were not ready at 1:30. Nor were many of them ready at 4:00 which is their check in time. There were many people waiting in the lobby for a room well after 4:00.

Parking: Parking was all around the building. It looks like there is only one spot per room. It was well lit and appeared safe.

Rooms: Our room was a decent size and most important appeared clean. It had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The television was old. There was also a desk and chair. The beds were okay. Neither good nor bad. The bathroom had the bare minimum. The towels were extremely thin and worn out. Water pressure in the shower was awful! You can definitely hear when someone else is in the bathroom in another room. The balcony had two plastic chairs and unfortunately a view of the parking area and street. Not exactly ideal for wanting to sit out and have a glass of wine or cup of coffee. From what I can tell, probably 1/3 of the rooms have a view of the courtyard and pool. I'm not sure if these were the suites or not. Overall, it was a very "basic" room.

Pool and Courtyard: This was my favorite part of the hotel. They really did a nice job with the potted plants, lots of lounge chairs (just be aware, some had slats missing and you could fall through), and the overall feel. The pool was clean. The huge fountain unfortunately had algae in it that you can see when you are in the glass elevator. With just a bit more tender loving care, it could be truly nice.

Breakfast: Breakfast consisted of the standard coffee, fruit juice, bread, bagels, some apples, cereal and a do it yourself waffle maker. All carbs! There was an employee who did keep everything clean and stocked.

Wifi: The hotel did offer internet service. Unfortunately I can't comment on it since I didn't use it. On a similar note, the only electrical outlet to plug anything in (camera, phone, etc.) was in the bathroom.

Other misc info: They do allow pets. It is a non-smoking hotel. There is only one elevator. But there are stairs if you don't want to wait.

Overall, the hotel isn't bad but it can really use some updates. Everything was just old and worn. If they could update it and make the rooms a bit more modern with a good interior decorator it could be a great hotel. The location was fine for what we needed. This would be a great deal for a way cheaper price then what we had to pay (over $200.00) But it was during 4th of July Week..... on a Friday night.... in Santa Cruz.....

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the pool or boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place to stay,big rooms ,great staff, we were so happy that we booked room at this hotel.accidentally we went to next door hotel and were glad that we did not made reservation for next door hotel the staff looked unpleasant and hotel was Victorian,but days inn was good from check in to check out everything went well,little pricy but it's summer and better than strip hotel.and manager is awesome he helped us out from the day one we checked inn.I will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Nice for stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a great long weekend at the hotel. It is close to the Boardwalk, it has nice pools. The personal at the front desk is very kind and helpful. Breakfast is very nice. It is not the cleanest hotel and there was no water pressure in shower...but all together, i would come back to this hotel on my next jurney to santa cruz.
Kinga from budapest, hungary

Room Tip: Have your room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

RM 217 not cleaned or prepared by maid service at 3:40pm AND smelt like human feces, exchanged room RM 227 no working lock on slider, deadbolt between other room did not work, no water pressure in shower, worn tub liner,smelt like a car freshener. Other room RM 212 had dirty walls, missing chair for desk, questionable cleaned linens. For $159.00 a night I expect better conditions than this, especially when I'm getting two rooms for over $300.00.

Room Tip: Check out other location in town first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srubright64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Norwalk, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Pro: Large rooms, Frig & microwave, balcony, clean, good continental breakfast (waffles, bagles, cereal, fruits, & coffee and juices). Walking distance from the Boardwalk and Downtown. 24 hour desk service and coffee. It has a heated pool and two jacuzzis. The staff is dressed professionally and will bend forward and backwards to help you. Ash (the manager) was there for us for our every need.

Cons: It is an older hotel so there are signs of wear all over the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I'm a local and I love this hotel. I've stayed here several times because it is within walking distance of downtown Santa Cruz and the boardwalk is right down the street. The rooms are clean and the pool and hot tubs are nice. The staff is very friendly and let you know which rooms are the nicest if you let them know you're staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrip4_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#47 of 54 in Santa Cruz
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.7 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing