We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ideal Bar & Grill

Ideal Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ideal Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Decent atmosphere, not too crowded on a Saturday night. Had some live music playing. I would recommend for an older crowd.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    169
    114
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
“Food poisoning and terrible service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was the worst experience I have ever had in a restaurant. We were 13 people simply looking for a table outside on the terrace however due to fire safety we were told to speak to someone else about sitting inside, which we accepted. The hostess inside the restaurant had an 'off' attitude and eventually got us 2 tables which we specified not to have, in the beach room which was very cold and breezy. After complaining again and again we finally accepted the tables we had been given. We ordered and got our food which was cold and bland and later that evening one of us vomited. Whilst eating the food the waitresses set up a table for 12 people beside our 2 tables which totally contradicted what they had said about fire safety in the beach room and the terrace. When we asked to be transferred to the large table our food started arriving and that question was seemingly forgotten about. I didn't have any cutlery and had to ask multiple times to be given any. All 13 of us will never return to this restaurant. The waitress was also very sexist and carded only the girls.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailidh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Surprise - good food with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a find. It's right off the Wharf, next to the Boardwalk, has a view, and yet, the service was excellent and the food was really good. I say this because of how many times I've eaten in or near tourist areas in restaurants with a view, and the food is tired and uninspired and the service isn't worth mentioning. One thing that was really nice was that they had a Prime Rib special for only $11.95 and it was extremely good. The meat was a good cut and a generous portion, the vegetables were nicely steamed and fresh, and the mashed potatoes were great. Fresh horseradish and delicious au jus made this a good deal. I would certainly come here again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do NOT ask to "double your drink for $2.00 more."”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I think the title says it all. After a very LONG car ride with two Terriers in tow - we decided to stop by here for a nightcap. We would have been better off going to Beach Liquors across the street and buy the booze there. We ordered a kamikaze and a bay breeze. Both require vodka. We didn't ask for Kettle One, Skye etc - just well. We were asked if we wanted to double the drink for $2.00 more and after the car ride we had - sure why not. DON'T DO IT. It was STILL watered down and couldn't feel the "kick" at all. We had two rounds and with tip - $40! Just go across the street, buy the liquor and take it to your hotel room - you would be better off.

The other thing that really bothered me - a LOT of flies in the bar area....meaning it wasn't that terrifically clean.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Server was oblivious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Server got absolutely every part of our order wrong but was not bothered by any of it. After 4 failed attempts not even an apology. She seemed to not notice or care. Parts of our order never came. She'd forgotten about them.

Definitely for tourists with nothing but time and patience on their hands. View cannot compensate for missing food and drinks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ideal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ideal Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing