We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In line with expectations”
Review of Aqua Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Breeze Inn
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In line with expectations”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Positives:
- good value for money
- clean rooms
- friendly staff
- great location (about 5 mins walk to the pier and beach)

Negatives:
- rooms a bit tired looking but you get what you pay for

I would recommend if you are just passing through (like we were) but probably worth paying extra for a hotel if you intend to stay for a longer period of time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JayJC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    26
    9
    14
See reviews for
44
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Never going to be amazing for the price you pay, but staff were friendly and everything was clean. Liked the fact that the place had its own character due to not being affiliated to a particular chain. The patio area was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 999MarkL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Here for my honeymoon with family and my sister's room was burgled...They got hit for Laptop, new $1200 digital camera loaded with wedding pix, a Nexus and an Ipod...$2500-3000...and Santa Cruz sleepy Police never even sent a car...Motel manager said they would review Security Video...yeah...not holding my breath on that...@#%((%#@#%#

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I was terribly sorry to hear about your family member losing some of their possessions while staying at our property, and that the police did not respond properly to the situation. I don't know if you wrote this review the moment the incident occurred, but we did in fact review the security video as soon as we heard about what happened to see if there was any useful information to get their belongings back, and also shared this footage with the police when they arrived.
It is terrible that they lost such valuable and irreplaceable items, I can't tell you how much I feel for them, but I feel it is important to note, since this is a review of our property, that their room was not broken into, the door was left open, and I do not feel it is fair to place the blame on us for this. I would advise guests to take precautions wherever they stay though, especially in touristy areas, such as ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, good prices. We also brought our dog, for an extra $20 charge, which was well worth it since it can be difficult finding dog-friendly hotels. There are nicer hotels, but you will pay more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Paid (way too much) for two nights, only stayed one. Walls are paper thin, too much noise, couldn't call the office to complain because the phone didn't work. The two room "suite" is a second room that's a cramped space with a double bed and just barely enough room to walk around. Badly in need of upgrades. Wifi didn't work. Parental control on cable wouldn't allow us to watch Bill Maher. No coffee maker. Better places farther from the beach, but I'd rather walk than stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Modesto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here on July 21st for 1 night, we had 2 rooms with 2 queen beds in each and it was great! The location was perfect for walking to the Boardwalk and the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions. I just wish we had a coffee pot in the room, We found out that they have a couple of rooms that have 2 bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen and the price was amazing when we asked about it, and they were happy to show us the room. So next year we will be booking that room. The pool was amazing as well, they also had an area on the 2nd floor to sit and relax looking over at the boardwalk. I can be a very pickie person but I was very happy with this place and the cost was amazing. I am already looking forward to staying next year but longer then one night. So give this place a try. And remember if you have children ask them about the 2 bedroom room.

Room Tip: If your room is on the 3rd floor park in the back, that way you only have to go up one flight of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I am disappointed that I was misled by tripadvisor reviews and decided to book here, the place is disgusting, there is no excuse for the filthy rooms, brown stains all over the bathroom walls, don't make my mistake, spend an extra 40 bucks and get somewhere clean

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Breeze Inn

Property: Aqua Breeze Inn
Address: 204 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aqua Breeze Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aqua Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Breeze Hotel Santa Cruz
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing