We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gabriella Cafe

Gabriella Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Gabriella Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $20 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I really like the set up in the restaurant - but they seriously need to either clean up the room with the coffee, tea, people --- or put a door on it --- really ruins the mood of the restaurant. The food was yummy - wasn't disappointed there at all! expensive - but tasty!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Motrzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Cute Little Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found this restaurant to be cute and interesting looking. The food was overpriced and I found the cooked food to be nothing special, bordering on bland. This establishment needs to experiment with bolder seasoning as I sampled other dishes at our table and nothing was seasoned well. The menu was limited and contained only one main dish item for non meat/fish eaters which was the bland risotto. My grandson ordered a pasta dish which cost $17. It also was not special and he found it difficult to eat the " ground meat like substance " in the red sauce. Our wait person displayed somewhat of a condescending attitude and seemed to be doing us a favour by taking our order.
This is not a value for money type of place and probably good if you just want to sit and sip wine. I am glad I visited but maybe I should have ordered one of the salads ...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“surprise find across from penny ice creamery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

ironically, we found this place AFTER we had indulged in some fantastic ice cream across the street so we came back later for dinner...small, intimate space...very cozy and comfortable...delicious food...try the 'pan amore' and any of their salads...good wine, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelling_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Found Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We happened upon this tiny restaurant and were enchanted with the ambiance. We had excellent service as well as excellent food. My crab risotto was delightful. Good wine list too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ML M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This ain't sidewalk surfin'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

They couldn't seat us immediately so told us, brusquely, to wait outside, where it happened to be raining.

Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriella Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gabriella Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing