We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Cruz”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Santa Cruz”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

the cost was way to expensive for this place $ 170 a night and the curtains were falling off the windows - it basically looks like they tired to do a fluff on the rooms but didnt finish - old tired furniture - nice flat screen tv and kuerig coffee maker - definitely not worth $170 a night
Wont be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    146
    100
    59
    77
See reviews for
151
126
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The location is excellent! We didn't have to drive anywhere! Which was great not to pay for parking. The room was great nice and clean. Love that they are dog friendly! But the price the weekend we went was much more expensive then we thought. We added an extra day, I think they could of worked with the price considering we could of went somewhere else. But other than that it was great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arodriguez722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have stayed here one other time years ago. Both times I enjoyed the stay. I chose this hotel primarily because they allow pets, the good price, and the easily accessible location. It is close (walkable) to downtown, the beaches, and only a short drive away to the college campus. Very centralized in the city of Santa Cruz.

I love the updates and modern-feel in the rooms and the lobby that have been added since my last stay. TVs are quality, with cable, and there is wifi (though very shaky from my room- the one downside). Patio and lobby area are super cute now. Decent continental breakfast with waffle makers. Free bike rentals for an hour.

I brought my two large dogs with me for the extra charge, which is not bad. They offer free doggy water bowls (and threw two large milkbones in!), filtered doggy water, dogs rags, and dog beds upon request! amazing!

There is no where on the hotel property to take dogs to bathroom (which is also nice- keeps things clean), so we just walked them a very short ways away to a tan bark patch between the Bay Front hotel and a hotel next door. Also, if you cross the street right in front of that hotel, there is a huge grassy park and area to take your dogs. Very convenient.

Decently quiet even though its usually filled up with guests, family friendly, pet friendly, good location, great price. Definitely worth a simple and short trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A number of things were wrong with the stay:
1. Refrigerator in the room was leaking water onto the floor
2. TV did not work (wouldn't turn on)
3. Coffee maker did not work (wouldn't turn on)
4. The coffee provided during the continental breakfast was like brown water
5. The additional service fee and parking fee were not mentioned ($15 total)

The plus for the hotel is the location--very close to the beach. But overall I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

First time staying here and was very impressed. The woman at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful and went out of her way to make sure I was satisfied with my stay. Convienently located near the beach and downtown and very pet friendly. Rooms were very clean and pleasant. Would definantly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerman, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This Inn was a decent value, very pet friendly with water bowls and treats for the dogs.
Breakfast was limited, but adequate. Great waffles!
Bed was firm and comfortable.
Shower was nice.
Bottom floor room was a tad noisy, but quiet after 10:00 pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

After reading review after review on hotels in Santa Cruz I was more confused then I was in the first place every other review is great then horrible!! Stay here and you will be more than satisfied!! We ended up just pulling in and asking about pricing and the staff was so kind and funny and the price was so reasonable we stayed. It was quiet and CLEAN and walking distance to the boardwalk and downtown. They have bicycle rentals and a GREAT breakfast with yogurt, fruit, make your own waffles ect. They even have complimentary filtered water you can bring to your room which I thought was over and above!!! I will most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmallett32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing