We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely come again”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great location. Good service. I'd definitely recommend the Bay Front Inn. The rooms are spartan but for me it was about the location- easy walk to downtown and to the beach; free one-hour bike rental; basic but good breakfast. Since the beach is so close, I'd love to have more places to hang items in our rooms (towel hangars, hangars in the shower for wet stuff), but overall I thought the place was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 559 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed over the weekend. Other places along the same distance from the beach were expensive and had some negative reviews about this and that. I loved this little place, not exactly a place with a fireplace and bearskin rug but perfect for a comfortable little stay. We walked in and it was immediately our little studio, plenty spacious to relax. I plan on staying again.

We wanted to stay somewhere on the beach but stayed here due to financial obligations, but I am so happy with this place. The beach is literally around the corner, a 5 minute walk. The place is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have stayed here before and I returned because of the good rate and the friendly staff. They have a nice breakfast area with good selection of cereals, oatmeal, make your own waffles, orange juice, coffee and tea. It was great to get to use 3 (of their4) beach cruiser bicycles for the complimentary 2 hour period. Our room was recently renovated and was clean and up to date. Great location - a close walk to the pier and beach.
I will stay here again and recommend this to others.

Chris

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms have been renovated yet - ask for one that has been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

It seems the hotel is trying hard but needs a bit more refinement.
Overall the staff was great-the room was clean but Spartan-the grounds were a bit shabby.
The proximity to the beach and boardwalk is fantastic.
We found the price tag a bit steep for the quality of the motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crusteen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over 20 years ago, and the updates recently done have greatly improved the place! Cute little hotel--room was clean (though on the small side) and nicely decorated; lobby & breakfast area were nicely furnished and the breakfast provided was one of the better I've had (sliced muffins were great!); new patio area was really nice to eat at and they offered complimentary bike rental for the first few hours of our stay which was unexpected and appreciated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Easy walk to beach, boardwalk and downtown. Will stay again when we next visit Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great trip.
Perfectly located - walking distance between beach (Boardwalk) and downtown (Pacific Avenue)
Front desk really nice and accommodating
Parking easy
Neighborhood and other people staying there = safe scene
Amenities: fridge, microwave, Keurig for coffee
Continental breakfast was awesome - homemade waffles + local coffee
Clean rooms
Only down side: if other people staying there are loud, you can hear it...
Otherwise, truly fair rates for the quality
We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Are family likes it. Were planning to come at least once a year to Santa Cruz and stay at this hotel. People that work are really friendly. The Breakfast is great!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabneel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
212 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#33 of 54 in Santa Cruz
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $79 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Front Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing