We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive room by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive room by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

An inexpensive hotel just 2 blocks from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and beach. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms are large and clean, and the bed comfortable. It's also very quiet at night. My only complaint was that the breakfast isn't served until 8am, which is a problem if you are leaving early. But that's easily solved since there are many cafes just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otwfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    145
    97
    58
    73
See reviews for
144
124
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice little spot to stay if you are pressed for some cash or just want to get away from the "major" names in the hotel industry. Spring for the bigger bed as it's just about $5 to $10 more which puts you in front of the hotel! Simple, clean and remodeled(minus the bathroom), the rooms are standard size, come with hardwood floors which are always better IMO and is pleasantly quiet with it being close to downtown and boardwalk! Pretty safe as the police station is around the corner and they even offer free bike rentals if you want to jump on a beach cruiser and hit the beach! Overall a solid stay!

Pros : updated room, Location (Beach, Downtown, Boardwalk), Very Friendly Staff, affordable, remodeled

Cons: Parking Lot is tiny, skimpy with the towels(you will constantly have to ask for more. Breakfast what breakfast?? It could be 10X's better but go out and get something, it's Santa Cruz

Room Tip: Spring for the bigger bed as it's just about $5 to $10 more which puts you in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMAGETCHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great location, a short walk/drive from the beach. Comfortable beds, hardwood floors in the rooms, updated bathrooms, a simple breakfast, and Keurig in the room were highlights for us. Also, the staff gave great recommendations for dinner! I would strongly recommend Bay Front Inn if you are looking for an affordable, simple, yet comfortable stay in Santa Cruz!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_sara_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Another great find found by pure accident. Had reservations at a different hotel in Santa Cruz. The morning we were leaving to head over there I get a call of cancellation due to plumbing issues. So, driving to downtown we found this gem. Beautifully remodeled. Clean, very wonderful employee working the desk. The room was immaculate. Clean. First time ever being in a room with wooden floors and I must say that I liked that a lot! Very clean, with crown molding. Breakfast in the morning with cereals, waffles, yogurt, muffins, juice, coffee, oatmeal with all the fixings. Dried cranberries, brown sugar, etc. We will definitely be coming back here and the price was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armympmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crows Landing, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Between the location, friendly and flexible staff, great rooms and Pet friendly accommodations I don't see how you can pass up the bay front inn. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling on any budget.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie15hicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The front staff people were very friendly. The maid did a good job cleaning the room. I loved my stay better then the last one. I had a pretty bad expecting in terms of cleanliness. But with this stay, I would it was improved by 100%. I loved the location of the hotel and the rates were affordable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemissykaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night and it was a great place to stay. Nice clean room and great waffles for breakfast. The price was right, we booked through the hotel and got a better price and free on site parking. We will stay there again on our next visit .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattimints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing