We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pet friendly and close to beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
1 review
“Pet friendly and close to beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is great! We came for a last minute quick trip and got a deal on our room. We were excited to see how close to the beach, only a few minute walk. The room was quiet, which is important for my dog, so he doesn't bark at other people. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Rooms were remodeled and clean. Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    145
    97
    58
    69
See reviews for
143
122
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Bay Front Inn is in the perfect location for a stay in Santa Cruz. We originally planned to stay one night, but ended up staying for three. Its literally over the hill from the beach, and a 2 minute walk in the opposite direction to Downtown shopping. The front desk also has 4 bikes available for free. You can take them out for roughly 3 hours or so, which is plenty of time to cycle the beach front/downtown etc.
The front desk was very accommodating, even giving us access to the printer/scanner as we needed to fire off some documents.
Breakfast is simple,free coffee, cereal, fruit and make your own waffles which was plenty for us as we just came to chill and spend some time on the beach.
Its a short walk out to Steamers Lane from the Bay Front too if you came to surf.
Overall, our stay at The Bay Front Inn was very pleasant and i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 107 for 3 nights. Kept window closed at night and slept fine. Parking directly out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's a well located motel for a fair price. Very kindly and helpfully staff.
The rooms are clean with all you need. A big flatscreen TV as well.
Just located few minutes walk from beach and also from downtown.
And the special, you can get a bicycle up to 4 hours for free!
We like it here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSJ-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was awesome. Only $60 per night booked through Booking.com, and was worth twice as much. Location was great, rooms were new, remodeled and clean, and the beds were comfortable.

The BEST part of the whole place was the staff. They were all very friendly, helpful, and really took care of us. We needed a wine bottle opener at about 12 am, and just rang the desk, and they had it all ready for us, and just waved off returning it until the morning. I even accidentally forgot my laptop on the floor after checkout, and the maid ran out and waved us down, making sure we didn't leave without it.

Next time I'm in the area, I'm for sure going with these guys.

Room Tip: Book through their website from now on, as there will be booking fees associated with the different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had a good time here the location was good it was about a two minute walk to the beach and breakfast until 10 is also a plus. They also had a delicious waffle maker in the breakfast area that you will eat 50-2,000 of. if I need a motel in the area again I will definately stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwave420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been travelling across the U.S and coming to Santa Cruz was a highlight. Finding the Bay Front Inn was simple enough as its a great location only a 2 min walk from the centre of things. Saying that, it's not noisy. The rooms are really clean, and the bed was comfty-so comfy we thought we missed the breakfast at reception. Fortunately, the laid back staff made sure we had food and coffee before we set out to explore the various antique and skate shops.
We plan to return next year and we will come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosandratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The recent remodel makes this hotel a great value. Only a 5 minute walk to the beach. It's just as nice as the rooms at the Dream Hotel, and 1/3 of the cost.

I've stayed here 4 times and it keeps getting better. Ive stayed at most hotels in Santa Cruz and this is the best one for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsthrowaparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing