We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Business Stay”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Bay Front for a short business trip, was pleasantly surprised by the remodeled room. Very modern feel to it, hardwood floors, nice tileed bath and vanity area. Large flat-screen TV, with microwave and mini-fridge. Spacious and clean room. The nice thing about the location is the very short walking distance to the beach/warf and downtown, the hotel is right in the middle of both. Traveling from out of the area, the short walking distance made finding a restaurant simple. I have already recomended this place to my friends and family. I plan to go back in two weeks for my next work-related visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 716TomF716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Bay Front Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 552 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

I booked this room online with a third party company. When I got to the hotel the company had booked a totally different room then what I needed and charged me for this lower room. The manager was extremely helpful with this issue and even matched the lower price. He gave me a room right in front of the pool and a 2:00 check out to make up for this nightmare problem with this third party company witch took an hour on the phone to cancel. The rooms are clean and nice. I really like the hardwood floors and the fridge and microwave are so convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Bay Front Inn is just want I needed for a quick get away trip. I stayed for one night in order to attend a local concert. The front desk attendant was friendly and very "chatty" . We engaged in short conversation about local sights and music. The room was clean, and straight to the point. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Huge rooms. Wood floors (yay!) Large mini fridge and a microwave. Centrally located. Owners seem to take pride in clientele...asking guests why they're staying. It may seem off putting to some, but in my opinion keeps the seediness out.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you were driving through Santa Cruz and needed to crash for a night, this would be a good spot: simple, no frills*, clean sheets, freshly remodeled bathrooms...clean.

It's pet friendly but it's probably worth noting that the walls are thin so if your neighbor brings a yappy dog with them, I could foresee barking being a problem. However, if you like traveling with your pet I'd recommend this spot.

Let's see, what else...

-- Nice friendly staff.

-- Free breakfast with above average pastries.

-- Free WiFi

-- Close to the beach and boardwalk in a safe area.

* The room was pretty basic, except for the organic soaps and moisturizer, included a shower cap and lots of fresh towels. Motel fancy. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Outstanding value, very helpful staff, great location and clean, modern rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Santa Cruz, CA!

The hotel is located right between Pacific Avenue with all its shops, and the Beach Boardwalk and Wharf, making everything within walking distance. The rooms are very clean, modern and well-kept. They come equipped with a sizeable mini fridge, microwave, TV (flat screens in the renovated ones) and modern bathroom. The shower was a very pleasant temperature with solid water stream, and came with very decent amenities, such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc,-.

The staff are exceptional: upon realising that we had booked into an unrenovated room with two queen beds (which was still great!), the receptionist upgraded us to one of their newly renovated kingsize rooms free of charge, even though we had already stayed in the unrenovated room for a night. She was extremely friendly, and immediately made us new room keys.

The only thing that could use improvement was the breakfast. The lobby (where breakfast was being served), was being renovated and covered in plastic, though this is only temporary. The breakfast selection is fairly limited, but nothing to complain about given the overall value.

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013, and would certainly return if staying in Santa Cruz again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdamanwillems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

good motel for the price. breakfast could be better. location neer the beach ans really closed to downtown. everything is arrivable by walk. parking possibilities directly in front it Thema rooms. perfect for short stops.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jens_Erlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $94 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Front Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing