We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed here and it was pretty much what I expected.Stayed here recently for an emergency trip to visit family. The place was exactly what I needed. The location was great. We were able to walk down to the boardwalk area and if we were to return to SC again I would consider staying here again. Peak time I would never pay more than $100 to stay here. We got a military discount and the rate was fair for what we needed it for. The morning we were to check out I guess the front desk staff was a no-show. We did have to wait about an hour or so for someone to show up to open the office and get the free breakfast.

Pro- dvd player and kids channels on cable in the room, hardwood/laminate floors so no gross carpet.
Con-older

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stylinchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    146
    98
    58
    74
See reviews for
146
125
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Bay Front Inn totally exceeded my expectations, especially for the price. Stylish, clean, and spacious rooms (don't let the 60's motel exterior fool you) just two blocks from the beach, free wifi, a decent continental breakfast, and the staff is friendly and helpful too. I notice some complained about parking and noise, but neither was a problem during my mid-week stay. As for the complaints about dirty hardwood floors; come on people, if you have hardwood floors at home look at your feet (yep, dirty) after walking barefoot on them awhile. Seriously, would you rather have all that dirt settled down in carpeting in a hotel room? (Loved the hardwood floors, obviously. Great idea.) Only suggestions I could make would be to step up the bathroom a notch with fluffy towels (really, the ones supplied weren't even soft when they were new!) to match to nice bath products provided. And maybe an in-room coffee maker would be nice. Still, would I stay here again? You bet I would.

Room Tip: If possible get an upstairs room. (I did.) It is an older building, and the one possible downside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Room was very clean and came with refrigerator and microwave. Staff was super nice! Free breakfast was the BEST continental breakfast I have seen at a hotel; so much variety. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Rupesh, for the tour of my first apartment that I lived in at 18! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

No complains. But we did not use the pool, which is located right next to the parking lots and we had maybe luck with the neighbors, which turned off the TV at 11pm. The walls are thin.
The staff was really nice And charming and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Clean rooms...........
Close to the boardwalk (10 minute walk).............
Shampoo / conditioner / soap was high quality and actually smelled nice.............
VERY helpful and professional staff..............

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helens Bay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our family California road trip. As far as motels go, it ranks pretty high. the room was spacious and well equipped with a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was clean and high quality products for the shower were a bonus. The beds were extremely comfortable and sleep was only disturbed by our neighbours who seemed to move the furniture around quite regularly for some reason !
Breakfast was adequate and pretty much what we expected, and the staff were friendly and helpful, giving us advice on directions for eateries etc. Not sure that Santa Cruz had much to offer, but we were only passing through. One nice shopping street and not much in the way of nightlife. The homeless people didn't bother us directly, but it was rather unsettling to see so many of them.
Very handy motel if you are visiting the area and close to the beach at a very competitive price made this a pleasurable stay. Thanks !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapoint40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing