We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carousel Beach Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
$310
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$238
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$169
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$248
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$204
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
158
161
74
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
161
74
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsacross the streetgreat locationboardwalk entrancecontinental breakfastroom was cleanamusement parkroller coasterspa roomcan't beat the locationtea and coffeesmall balconyparking lotoff seasonthe santa cruz boardwalkperfect place to stayfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 430 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2007

I stayed with my children 3 days one week and 4 days the following week. The rooms were clean and the staff is always going out of their way to see that your needs are met. Being so close to the Beach and Boardwalk is great - you don't have to lug everything across - you can run back to your room to make a sandwich or a light lunch. TV access is good - good variety for kids after 11 when the boardwalk closes. Not having AC makes for warm evenings - I really like having a pool but for the price it is an excellent location and property. There are a few strange homeless people that seem to frequent the front of the property but the office staff have been quick to go out and have them leave. We stay there 3-4 times a year and have never had a bad experience!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edrn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

For our three day trip to Santa Cruz, we stayed at the Carousel for the second straight year. Booking was easy, as they already had all our info from last year's stay. I was offered a 10% discount and we were not charged for the extra adults in our room.

Parking was abundant and the staff was very friendly, even offering discounts to wharf attractions. No teenage partyers this year. But there were a number of European women in the hotel, which was great, since they made their way to the beach, settled next us on the sand and proceeded to walk around in thong bikinis... God bless European swimwear. Gotta get over there someday!

Anyway, for location, friendly service and fun, I highly recommend the Carousel. Just cover the kids' eyes when you see those Euro girls on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsvaldivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

My boyfriend and I made a one night trip to Santa Cruz, and we really wanted to stay near the Boardwalk and Fisherman's Wharf. We spotted the Carousel Motel, which is right across the street. I thought surely it would be too expensive. When we went inside, the kind young man at the desk gave us a queen room with a patio for under $80 with AAA. WE'LL TAKE IT.
Now keep in mind, this is not a 4 star property. It is your basic no-frills motel, but there's nothing wrong with that. The bed was comfy, everything worked fine, and the bathroom was HUGE. It was nice to have the patio with a screen door in the evening.
The location is excellent, but during the dy when the Boardwalk is open, it can be a little noisy, with the roller coaster and drop zone rides literally right across the street. But how much time will you really be in your room during the day??!! You'll be out and about all day anyway. Once the sun is going down is is SO ABSOLUTELY QUIET I couldn't believe it. In the morning when we checked out, there was o.j., bagels & cream cheese, coffee, tea, etc. in the breakfast nook in the office.
The staff was great, always friendly and willing to offer suggestions of things to do. We will definitely be back, and we would recommend this to anyone looking for a great location at a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LoversPointInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews