We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Vio.com
$199
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Skyscanner.com
$199
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
dianamT4166EP
Modesto, California

Best Hotel in Santa Cruz

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 16, 2017via mobile
This is where we stay every time we go to Santa Cruz. With or with out the kids. They have re done the whole hotel it is so clean and crisp. I love there is no carpet now! In the morning i get a cup of coffee and go wall the beach or boardwalk right across the street. 302 is my favorite room!
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review
Responded Apr 5, 2017
I’m so glad you enjoyed your recent stay. Room 302 is a favorite with our guests. I’m happy you and your family stay with us when you visit Santa Cruz. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Lisa King
Director of Lodging Operations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $254
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $146
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $213
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Standard Queen
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $257
  • Hotels.com
2.8 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
Booking.com
$133
$106
  • Priceline
    $116
  • Expedia.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
    $107
0.4 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Hotels.com
4.9 miles from Carousel Beach Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveler rating
432
274
128
58
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
432
274
128
58
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street bagels great location boardwalk entrance continental breakfast scones room was clean roller coaster amusement park the santa cruz boardwalk off season fridge and microwave parking lot hard boiled eggs board walk would stay again balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 917 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2017

The location is great. You are just across the road from the amusement park on the boardwalk. Having free parking in this area of Santa Cruz, which is included, would be a real bonus most of the time.

The boardwalk was closed while we were there with lots of damage from the storms. I don't know how noisy it would be when the park was in full swing in summer.

We had booked the room over the phone the night before only on arrival to be informed by the receptionist that the river was quite high and other hotels near-by had been told to be ready to evacuate if the retaining walls to the river broke. Oh and the Wifi isn't working.

Our room was clean if a little bit small. We has a view out to the boardwalk. The bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable. The air-conditioning was very noisy and didn't heat the room. We waited about an hour for reception to bring us up an equally noisy heater.

It was very quite outside with everything shut up down there near the boardwalk. Very few car in the hotel car park.

Without the storm factor, and even if the amusement park and boardwalk was buzzing, I think I still would have been disappointed with the uncomfortable nights sleep. You're paying for the location, not the accommodation.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VHD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

The manager Lori was great. Breakfast is very simple bt healthy. Great fresh Scones 😋. Rooms are plain bt clean. Pillows suck! Beds are comfortorable. The Location is perfect will stay here again. Rite across the boardwalk

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cinthya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

My grown daughter and I spent 3 nights at the Carousel Beach Inn. It is a decent, clean, middle of the road motel. It is a good location, we like to walk and we could walk to the wharf, West Cliff Drive path and downtown.

There were a few issues, but other than the squeaky bed, they weren't really the motel's fault. The wi-fi was down, we were told it was restored after our first night, but we were never able to connect. Also, the tv in our room did not work, the signal kept breaking up, we thought it was related to the wi-fi issue. We were credited 10% of our bill when I mentioned it at check out. One night we had a screaming baby next door that woke us up and the following night there was a party, but after I called the front desk they shut them down quickly.

I'll be traveling to Santa Cruz quite a bit in the future, but will not go back to Carousel Beach Inn.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I’m sorry that you had these issues but I’m glad we were able to resolve them for you at the time. Some of the circumstances were beyond our control, but I’d appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your stay. We did credit you during your stay, but I’m happy to offer you a special discounted rate the next time you are in town. Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Lisa King
Director of Lodging Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

We are a family with 2 teenage boys (15 & 17). Loved this place. Beautiful decor. Very nice employees. Parking included which was a huge bonus. Right across the street from the boardwalk. Down the street from a great family friendly long boarding beach. Would definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank colleenc617
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

Santa Cruz in Feb was very quiet, making the location of the Carousel Inn not ideal at this time.
The room was good, just had very squeaky mattresses which wasn't great with a baby.
Breakfast was ok, only a few options, I would have liked to see more fruit available.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews