We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location/Bad Parking/Ugly Carpets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carousel Beach Inn
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location/Bad Parking/Ugly Carpets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel is all about the location. It's right across the entrance to the Boardwalk. Close to the wharf and Beach Street. The condition of the building and rooms are a different story. During my stay the outside temperature was 80+ but inside the hotel always felt damp. The rooms need updating. The carpets, floors, and bathtub were dirty. The towels smelt after one use - I don't know why. We microwave oven in the room was very very old. The management should really think about replacing the microwave ovens. The breakfast: bagels, OJ (mixed with water), and muffins. And yes, they had tea and coffee available 24/7 in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ek_jajabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    94
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
118
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

not a expensive hotel just in front of the boardwalk.
Even the pier and the towncenter are within a walking distance.
Don't expect luxury or anything fancy at this hotel.
Just a good hotel at a reasonable price, that's all there is to say.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is all about location. It is 1 minute walk to the entrance of the Boardwalk and Beach. The hotel is 2 star standard with basic rooms but plenty big enough in size making it ideal for a weekend in Santa Cruz, it was also clean.

Breakfast is included but is very basic with just fruit, bagels and cake to eat, no cereals etc are on offer. Tea / Coffee / Juice is also available with Coffee available 24x7.

On booking the hotel we could find no availablity on any of the main booking sites but was able to book it direct with the hotel. We requested a room with a balcony but was given a ground floor room with a outdoor area which had a 6 foot wall around it offering no view and making it feel like a prison. I did ask if we could move to a higher floored room with a balcony. I was told I would have to pay more for this, it did not mention that on the web site.

For approx $120 per night we were happy with that due to the location plus parking is free. Car's have to be out of the car park by 1pm on departure day. I did ask if I could pay to leave the car a few more hours as we wanted to use the beach all day as it was a very hot weekend but I was told no beacuase they were busy. On returning back to the car at 1 there was 4 other cars in the car park, it was empty!.

Santa Cruz is beautiful and very clean, not trashy like other review has mentioned. Broadwalk is spotless and the beach has no litter at all with it being cleaned daily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiltshire71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The Carousel is easy to find, and close to the boardwalk attractions of Santa Cruz. I was here solo- I parked my car when I arrived and was able to walk every where I wanted to go during the afternoon and evening. Great location for the Boardwalk and the wharf. Clean and staffed with helpful front desk staff. I will come back!




Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After spending a few days at the Carousel Motel, in Santa Cruz..... I would stay there again. A friend had advised us not to stay there but we didn't listen! :) We had to have had the best room in the place! A big deck and a view of the Boardwalk! Room 212!!!! The motel itself is a little old, but we had NO ISSUES AT ALL!!!! Parking can be a little tight, but again no problems! You are right across from the Boardwalk, Beach and Pier. A short drive to the Mystery spot.

Room Tip: Get room 212, Right above the office, Corner room, view of the Boardwalk and Beach and has a BIG dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is directly across the street form the many enterence of the boardwalk. The thing is the boardwalk location is kind of ghetto. The are a lot of bums and pan handles everywhere. The room itself was average smelt bad couldn't figure out what it smelt like but it wasn't good. The price was good for what you got.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbitb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stay here as often as possible, usually between 6 and 10 times a year. The hotel is clean and safe, the staff is ALWAYS lovely, and the location literally cannot be beat if you're there for the boardwalk. It's SO convenient to get up in the morning, enjoy their continental breakfast, head to the beach to have a nice walk, get your wristband for the day and then just enjoy the place. No worrying about parking or remembering to take everything you need to the beach, then worrying about what to do with it while you're on the rides. They're kind enough to offer parking before and after your checkout. If you get tired and want a nap or just need to use the facilities, the short walk from there back to your room is such a godsend. I go back and forth between the beach and the room all day long while I'm there. I promise I'm not employed by Carousel, they're just that good! Haha. I'll be back in 2 weeks, Carousel! :)

Room Tip: I prefer rooms with a balcony. Get one facing the boardwalk during the summer. It's lovely to or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Beach Inn

Property: Carousel Beach Inn
Address: 110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5520 (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-friendly Carousel Beach Inn is just steps away from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Main Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carousel Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Motel Santa Cruz
Carousel Hotel Santa Cruz
Carousel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing