We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night in Santa Cruz”
Review of Carousel Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carousel Beach Inn
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel was very convenient. We had a nice view of the Boardwalk and ocean from our third story room. The room was clean but a little run down. It was a little loud when people were outside in the center court but it's Santa Cruz and you go there to have fun. Usual breakfast provided in the morning which saved us some money. We were on our way to Disneyland and this was our first stop. For the location and the price, it was perfect. We would choose this hotel again. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Boardwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 371 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

For starters, this hotel's customer service is superb! Being unfamiliar with the area, I called the hotel a few times to ask questions. Each person that I spoke with was extremely polite and helpful. The check-in experience was no different. The Carousel Motel is steps away from the main entrance of the boardwalk. Talk about convenience!! The (included) continental breakfast is adequate. The bagels, muffins and fruit mix are fresh, the orange juice chilled and tasty. The balcony was helpful in keeping the kids entertained while they soaked in the sights. The room itself was clean and spacious. Microwave and fridge helped in cutting costs by sparing us from having to eat out during the entire stay. Parking was ample, though I'm not sure how easy it would be to find a spot when the hotel is fully booked.

Considering the convenience of the location, I expect the hotel to be at full capacity. Because of this, noise might be a factor. Keep your fingers crossed and hope that the room above does not have little children running around. The pitter-patter of (running) feet is equivalent to the banging of drums -- especially at 2:30 in the morning. The courtyard on the second floor is convenient for family meals, but can be another noisy problem when folks gather to socialize in the wee hours of the morning. The doors, windows, walls, ceilings, and floors don't add much to insulate from outside noise. Street traffic noise is also present, but that should be expected when taking a room on the outside perimeter.

Would I stay here again? You bet!! The pros outweigh the con, which is basically just the noise situation. This could be solved easily with a pair of ear plugs.

Room Tip: Room 202 and 302 have views of the boardwalk, but are also subjected to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Our family has stayed there many times and the staff is always very courteous and attentive to our needs - we do stay other places too as there is no pool, hot tub or room service but this motel is actually a great place with smaller kids - you have views of the ocean and boardwalk from I believe every room - every one I have stayed in had that anyway - small balconies - you are right smack across from the Carousel (hence the name?) - makes going to the beach with lots of stuff or having to come back and get warmer clothing is a few feet away!! My daughter was just married 11-7-11 and because it was their little honeymoon overnighter Lori offered them a great price - although it was raining my daughter said they were so nice and it was just a great overnight time for our newlyweds!!! Thank you Lori, Mike and the other staff for whom I don't know their names!!

Room Tip: request a room with view of ocean but mostly boardwalk - the ocean view is small as it is between th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dauna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have stayed at Carousel Motel many times over the years. Check-in was extremely welcoming. Door key was a challenge, but we had immediate assistance. Our room was clean. It is very convenient to return to our room several times while playing at the beach boardwalk. The coffee and light breakfast that is provided was enough to get us started for another day of exploring the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the boardwalk, preferably 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hixona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The first thing I want to say is how pleased I was with the staff. They were all very kind and seemed happy to have us there. I also want to note that two service employees were very gracious to us and I wonder if that was representative of how they treat their employees - they list everyone's name on the welcome sheet in the room and I was touched.

The location is noisy and kind of a dirty area of town. But we expected that. The real treat was to be literally across the street from the boardwalk. It made for a very pleasant evening. This also means that it was a tad noisy outside until the park closed at 11pm. But that should be expected. The continental breakfast was pleasant and "homey" feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeeeeeeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was very disappointed, as I paid 219.00 for less than 20 hours, as your check in is 3:00, we waited until 3:10pm. and check out is 11:00am. That was ridiculous, plus no a/c and the room was very humid. I tried to open the window, but window locks were broken and not staying open, wall paper peeling, jacuzzi was noisy, and tv very old and outlet plug broken, and finally the lamps were filthy with dust. I do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCSeaside, Web Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

We are very sorry that you had this experience here. At the Carousel Motel, We pride ourselves in having clean and fully-functional rooms. We would like you to come back and experience the quality we stand behind. We would be very happy to offer you a 25% discount off your next stay to encourage you to return (Sun - Thurs check-in and not combined with other packages or discounts) . Upon receiving the discount, We would need you to login to your tripadvisor account to show that this is you receiving this discount. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hey this is not hte Ritz, not even close. But it is close to the beach and all the action on the Boardwalk. We went over hte 4th of July and we had a second floor room facing the beach. We got to watch the fireworks being set off (illigally but still fantastic) from our room. The room was clean and just right for a stay at the beach. They offred a great fruit and bagel breakfast in the lobby each morning and it along with the free coffee it was a perfect way to start our morning. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Everyone was especially nice to my children. We will go back if we are ever in Santa Cruz again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidinichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
520 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Beach Inn

Address: 110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5520 (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $110 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carousel Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-friendly Carousel Beach Inn is just steps away from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Main Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carousel Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Motel Santa Cruz
Carousel Hotel Santa Cruz
Carousel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing