We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get off Hwy 1 and eat here!”
Review of Crepe Place

Crepe Place
Ranked #5 of 21 Dessert in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Atlanta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Get off Hwy 1 and eat here!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're headed down Hwy 1, make sure to time your drive so you can have lunch (like we did) or dinner at this delightful garden/patio restaurant in Santa Cruz. Just like NorCalBigRedDog said, it popped up on our GPS - so we decided to give it a try - totally unplanned - just got hungry approaching Santa Cruz! What a find!

Weather was typical - a little cool, but sunny. We were offered sunny,mixed sun & shade, or shady tables in the secluded back garden/patio. Where else in the world do you get those choices for seating! Kind of unusual, but attractive landscaping/wetlands plants with a trickling waterfall providing some background music.

We split a salad (big!) and a crepe (big!). One or the other would have probably been plenty. The salad was fresh, crisp, & tasty - like everything had been picked from the nearby farms that morning! I've forgotten what kind of crepe we had, but it was terrific. Everyone around us also seemed to be enjoying their meals.

The Crepe Place is casual California dining at its best!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senior-Top-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The outside patio in the back was a nice surprise. A quick bite before the show down the street at the Rio. Healthy and tasty.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBerkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden little Gem”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Discovered this little place as our GPS showed nearby restaurants. What a fabulous place! You first go it and it looks like a bar with space for a band and dancing. But the hostess takes you to the back where there is an outdoor patio. Quite unexpected! As it was dusk and just getting a bit cold, they lit the ourdoor heaters. Quite toasty as the sun went down. We ordered an avocado crepe and a smoked salmon crepe. Huge! One is more than enough for a person with a normal appetite. Our table also ordered a dinner salad. Huge mistake! I mean the salad was HUGE! It was more than enough for 2 people! The quality of the food was excellent. Waitresses were quite pleasant altho I was a bit turned off by the clothes they wore and the lip piercings some of them had. Oh yeah, and the orange hair. But hey, this is Santa Cruz, anything goes.
I absolutely recommend this restaurant. Good food, nice atmosphere. A little oasis in the city.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorCalBigRedDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Intimate Venue”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Loved the venue, very small and intimate. Didn't really get a chance to eat/drink much as we were only there to see Mary Gautier (not in May of 2011) but her show was kickass :) Very nice person,

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zulu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irish
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Lovely afternoon in the patio. Chocolate crepe was marvelous

Helpful?
Thank IrishGlamgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crepe Place also viewed

 

Been to Crepe Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing