We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, great price & comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, great price & comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If possible, we would give Seaway Inn 3 1/2. Because of the great price and location, we've bumped it up to 4.

This old style motel sits right across the street from the Pier, boardwalk and the walking/bike path that runs along the coast. No fancy amenities like a pool or spa, but recently remodeled rooms that were clean and comfortable. A huge plus for us is that they allow dogs. The free breakfast is the usual make-your-own-waffle, cereal, muffins, juices and coffee that are found in most US motels these days. Nothing special, but perfectly adequate. Staff were all very friendly and the free wifi was fast and reliable. We should also mention the free parking available at the Inn. Most of Santa Cruz has parking meters.

We stayed in room 221. The 2 queen beds were very comfy and the water pressure in the new feeling shower was great. There was a futon sofabed that needs some extra padding, but having the extra space to watch TV was nice. This good sized room is at the front of the motel and has a fantastic view.

The cons: Room 221 is the closest to the street and does have a bit of traffic noise, mainly noticed in the mornings. DO NOT stay in this room on a Sunday night. Monday morning is trash day, and pick up is right around dawn, right at the curb below the window. There is nothing the Inn can do to change this huge racket, but it is something to take into consideration.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room at the back of the hotel. Room 221 has traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goathill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but sorry to hear that the garbage truck woke you up, in the morning, and that the futon could use some extra padding. I will make sure to address the futon issue a.s.a.p. This particular room is our most popular and happy that you have suggested it as well. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    106
    30
    14
    19
See reviews for
78
74
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very decent motel-style inn, with complimentary breakfast, wifi and parking. Staff is friendly and willing to help with any questions we had. Location is good, right across the Pier and about a 10/15-minute walk to downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the location of our property and the fact that we accept pets. I have found that being pet friendly give us a head up on our competition as most properties in our area do not accept pets. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice location, but dated: tile on bathroom floor coming up, smells misty, beds not that comfortable, curtains let in light, and no elevators for those in need. Nice location for board walk, and walks along Cliff Ave. Room was quiet and coffee maker in the room is always a plus. Employees friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gale Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest comments so we can make our inn a good experience for everyone.
I am sorry to hear that the tile was coming up in the bathroom. I actually got my maintenance person on that right away, after reading your review, and that is no longer an issue; it shouldn't have been in that condition, something that I will make sure to reiterate with all of my staff.
I will make sure to get those beds checked out as well, so we can make those more comfortable.
We are actually in the process of considering different alternatives for the window coverings, possibly blinds, that is still being discussed.
Unfortunately, with the age and size of our property, we do not have elevators, or anywhere to install them. We do always attempt to accommodate guests however, and put them downstairs, if they are unable to climb the flight.
We hope that these issues didn't deter you away form our inn, the next time that you happen to be in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely little motel style place, courteous and helpful staff. Nice room, great price. 24 hour service great, coffee tea and snacks, always available and free. 4 gold stars!
Fantastic location right by the wharf, and we were upgraded to a sea view room as there were few people in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room upstairs and to the back, they are quieter. 229 good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capitanissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for visiting our inn! We greatly appreciate your review of our property, on Trip Advisor. If we have the availability, we always try to upgrade guests to ocean view rooms, as we know that, mostly everybody, would appreciate it. We hope to see you again, should you happen to be in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Well, my title says most of what I want to say. Free parking. I could see the beach (staying on second floor) and just about 3 min walk to beach and pier. No restaurants nearby open at 11 pm. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property! Unfortunately, you are correct, there are not many restaurants that are open after 11pm in our general area; there is a Denny's and the Santa Cruz Diner that are both 24 hours, but they are about a 5-10 minute drive from our property. We hope to see you again, should you happen to be in Santa Cruz in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent location next to the beach and a few minutes walk to downtown Santa Cruz. Clean, basic and quiet rooms. Very helpful, friendly staff. American (bagels, pancakes, muffins, yoghurt, cereals, juice and coffee) breakfast included!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your generous review of our property on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our accommodations, friendliness and location of our property. We, very much, hope to see you in the future, should you be back in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place suited us perfectly and we would come back any time. We arrived in Santa Cruz mid-morning and wanted an ocean-view motel, so we drove to West Cliff Drive and went in to different places. Here, Stephanie told us that a room with a view would be available but checkin time would be about 3 pm. Okay. There was room in the lot so we brought our car in and went for a long walk on the beach and wharf. Just as we sat down to lunch in a wharf restaurant about 12:30, my cellphone rang and it was Stephanie saying our room was ready. Great!

This motel has clearly been renovated, and we both enjoyed the shower stall. The night before, we had been in another city in a national chain motel with lots of space but no soul. This little room had no place to hang clothes except the hooks on the back of the bathroom door, and the counter around the sink was small, but hey, no problem, worth it to gaze out at the ocean... bay, actually.

Room Tip: We had 229, and it had one of the better views... 230 also would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I am glad that our property offered a nice and comfortable stay for you. This room does actually have a very large closet, behind the big mirrors. I am also happy that we were able to get you in before check in time, we try to do that for all guests if they let us know ahead of time. We hope to see you the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#2 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Property: Seaway Inn
Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing