We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need to replace the beds.”
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They need to replace the beds.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The place was nice and close to everything but for paying over $500 for 2 nights you would think they can give you a bed that's not broke down and need to be replaced we woke up and are back all hurt and if you didn't sleep in the middle of the bed you would role off.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are sorry to hear that our beds were uncomfortable. Did you happen to mention that to the clerk when you checked out on your departure date. I will make sure to let the owner know that the beds should be replaced as soon as possible. We hope that this doesn't detour you away from our property the next time that you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    119
    34
    14
    20
See reviews for
86
92
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night. Great location!! Because everything was so near we walked everywhere.. The room was okay, it was pretty clean, but the carpet had a huge stain on it.. Dunno what it was from?:/ also we got the room with the sea view, there wasn't much of a sea view lol!! So I think we were overcharges for that. But overall good stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, we are across the street from the ocean, so we do have some obstructions to some of our ocean view rooms; all of our rooms that are specified to be an ocean view, do have an ocean view however and we work with what we have.
We do try to clean the carpets as soon as we notice any spots on them, but being so full throughout the summer, it's better to spot clean as the next guest probably wouldn't like to have a wet carpet, when they check in. We do like to know all guest feedback so thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Walking distance to the Boardwalk. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom in the Deluxe Ocean View suite was very nice. Although our room overlooked the street and was above the lobby we didn't hear any noise at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Ocean View suite. A little cramped with a family with 3 teenagers but it wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for you review of our property. The next time that you visit Santa Cruz, maybe you would like to try our King/Queen combo; that room is what I usually recommend for families with teenagers as it is a two room suite and you have separate rooms and two TV's. The room doesn't have an ocean view, as it is on the 1st floor and is one of the rooms with out the remodeled shower, but it does allow for a little extra move about space and some privacy as it has two separate dwelling areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very good experience starting with the very first contact with the hotel. I always have lots of inquires and each time emails were answered promptly . When we arrived at the hotel, the manager was extremely accommodating and helpful. We were fortunate to receive a room with an excellent view. The buffet breakfast was much more than expected. The location was the best--quiet and convenient. It was the first visit to the ocean by our Texas cowgirls and we wanted everything perfect for these granddaughters. Seaway Inn's staff made that possible for us--even the request for good weather was fulfilled. The room was small, but it met my most important criteria of being clean. The microwave and refrigerator added to the value of the room's amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We would love to take credit for making the weather so nice for you, but unfortunately, we cannot. We are lucky to be so well situated, here in Santa Cruz, and have to admit that we have pretty nice weather year round; we do suffer in the summer with the fog, but if you are looking for specular weather, please come back and visit us in the fall! August through September tend to be particularly nice with out all of the fog and we tend to get some warmer weather then as well. Not to mention, the traffic isn't so congested as most have moved on to a new school year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Funny, we discovered the Seaway Inn by accident. Lucky thing, because now it's our favorite spot to stay when we visit on July 4th.
Pluses include: We felt safe, the rates are lower than the competition surrounding, and reserving a room is easy on your wallet. The Inn won't charge your credit card until your check-out, and you have up until 48hours of the reserved day to cancel w/o a fee, Its located closes to the Pier side of the Boardwalk on Beach St./ W.Cliff Dr. so it's less than a five minute walk to the Pier or Boardwalk, driving further up the hill by five minutes are grocery stores, B of A, and fast food, they let you BBQ if you bring a grill, very clean rooms, lots of towels in the bathrooms, fully equipt kitchens, polite and friendly staff (Stephanie or Sherry), free parking with your stay (even after we checked out at 12:00 pm they let us keep our car on site), free breakfast 6-10am hot waffles, coffee with flavored cream options, hard boiled eggs, bagels, yogurt etc...,and finally WiFi in the room.
To work on: FYI... The WALK UP THE HILL from the boardwalk to the Inn IS STEEP; stay in one of the four private Annex Rooms which are on Front St. to avoid the hill, older Inn, the ONLY room with a good view, BIG shower, and carpet is the Deluxe Room (the most $)and the view is semi blocked by the Dream Inn which is across the street, the bathroom shower is a dark stall for one w/o a caddy for hygiene products, the beds are soft, tile floors, older TV, and finally the rooms are close to each other.

Room Tip: The rooms that beat the surrounding competition for the price & amenities are the Deluxe Room, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmg z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive feed back on Trip Advisor! We appreciate any and all responses from our guests.
We have 5 rooms on our property that are specific to ocean view. Unfortunately, being across the street from the Dream Inn does block some of our views and we are lucky to have what we do. Most of the showers, on our main property, have been remodeled and have a double sized shower, with double shower heads. Unfortunately, we do still have 4 rooms in which the showers have not been remodeled, on our main property.
Our annex building is located about a half a block inland, from the wharf area and has proven to be great for guests who plan to stay longer periods of time, or have special dietary needs, so they can cook their own meals in the kitchen. The showers in those rooms are single person stalls as well, and the floor is vinyl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

OMG!!! This small inn was great, very comfortable beds, good continental breakfast, friendly helpful staff & wonderful beautiful ocean views (need to make sure you emphasize/request ocean view) make sure you check & recheck your reservations even if you made them in advance. Just hop skip & jump away from the boardwalk but be careful you must walk up & down hill tough hike for walker or push wheelchair but a breeze for motorized wheelchair!!!! Great dining & restaraunts just steps away with variety of great eats if you are a foodie!!!!! May i say very accessible for the disabled. Although no elevators you still have lower level room. However no pool or ja uzzi???? Excellent stay my family & I really enjoyed!!!! Thank you!!!!!!

Room Tip: No pool no jacuzzi!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We appreciate the feedback, in regards to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed ehre when we learned the Dream Inn, directly acrtoss the street does not accept even the best mannered pet. We had the larger room at the top of the stairs at the front of motel-quiet, best view in motel, etc. I am used to high end accommodations and these definitely were not high end. But it was homey, clean, and perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Best view room-can actually see surf-from room at top of stais in front of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Property: Seaway Inn
Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing