We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for July 4th”
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Funny, we discovered the Seaway Inn by accident. Lucky thing, because now it's our favorite spot to stay when we visit on July 4th.
Pluses include: We felt safe, the rates are lower than the competition surrounding, and reserving a room is easy on your wallet. The Inn won't charge your credit card until your check-out, and you have up until 48hours of the reserved day to cancel w/o a fee, Its located closes to the Pier side of the Boardwalk on Beach St./ W.Cliff Dr. so it's less than a five minute walk to the Pier or Boardwalk, driving further up the hill by five minutes are grocery stores, B of A, and fast food, they let you BBQ if you bring a grill, very clean rooms, lots of towels in the bathrooms, fully equipt kitchens, polite and friendly staff (Stephanie or Sherry), free parking with your stay (even after we checked out at 12:00 pm they let us keep our car on site), free breakfast 6-10am hot waffles, coffee with flavored cream options, hard boiled eggs, bagels, yogurt etc...,and finally WiFi in the room.
To work on: FYI... The WALK UP THE HILL from the boardwalk to the Inn IS STEEP; stay in one of the four private Annex Rooms which are on Front St. to avoid the hill, older Inn, the ONLY room with a good view, BIG shower, and carpet is the Deluxe Room (the most $)and the view is semi blocked by the Dream Inn which is across the street, the bathroom shower is a dark stall for one w/o a caddy for hygiene products, the beds are soft, tile floors, older TV, and finally the rooms are close to each other.

Room Tip: The rooms that beat the surrounding competition for the price & amenities are the Deluxe Room, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmg z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your positive feed back on Trip Advisor! We appreciate any and all responses from our guests.
We have 5 rooms on our property that are specific to ocean view. Unfortunately, being across the street from the Dream Inn does block some of our views and we are lucky to have what we do. Most of the showers, on our main property, have been remodeled and have a double sized shower, with double shower heads. Unfortunately, we do still have 4 rooms in which the showers have not been remodeled, on our main property.
Our annex building is located about a half a block inland, from the wharf area and has proven to be great for guests who plan to stay longer periods of time, or have special dietary needs, so they can cook their own meals in the kitchen. The showers in those rooms are single person stalls as well, and the floor is vinyl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

OMG!!! This small inn was great, very comfortable beds, good continental breakfast, friendly helpful staff & wonderful beautiful ocean views (need to make sure you emphasize/request ocean view) make sure you check & recheck your reservations even if you made them in advance. Just hop skip & jump away from the boardwalk but be careful you must walk up & down hill tough hike for walker or push wheelchair but a breeze for motorized wheelchair!!!! Great dining & restaraunts just steps away with variety of great eats if you are a foodie!!!!! May i say very accessible for the disabled. Although no elevators you still have lower level room. However no pool or ja uzzi???? Excellent stay my family & I really enjoyed!!!! Thank you!!!!!!

Room Tip: No pool no jacuzzi!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

We appreciate the feedback, in regards to your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed ehre when we learned the Dream Inn, directly acrtoss the street does not accept even the best mannered pet. We had the larger room at the top of the stairs at the front of motel-quiet, best view in motel, etc. I am used to high end accommodations and these definitely were not high end. But it was homey, clean, and perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Best view room-can actually see surf-from room at top of stais in front of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our stay here would have been a lot nicer if we did not get the inside corner downstairs room. It was really dark and felt like a two closets that were converted to an extra room. Luckily, the weather was good so we spent most of our day running around the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs or at the end of the hall, not at the inside corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FtCollinsCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

the stay is good for the price and liked the breakfast and free wi fi. only complaint I have is that the last 4 days the cleaning crew does not come in to clean the room, bathroom, no clean sheets! the cleaning crew's behavior is very odd too. I put up the please clean the room sign and she still would not come in to clean. I even had to carry out the trash from the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fariyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed at the Seaway Inn for five days. The location was great, close enough to the Boardwalk and beach, and far enough away from the crowds and noise. The staff were really cool, and made me feel welcome and relaxed. My room was perfect, I traveled alone and this was the perfect place for me. I was able to nap during the day, my favorite thing to do sometimes on vacation, with no interuptions. Room was clean and check out the showers, their one of a kind, like my whole stay at the Seaway Inn, I cant wait to return. Thanks to all the staff for making me feel at home, Merry X-Mas and Happy New Year.

Room Tip: upstairs with view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed in a room in the annex down the hill. My room was in the back (305), so it was quiet and very cozy. There were bunkbeds and a nice little kitchen too, which would have been great for a family visit. The location is perfect; near the beachs/wharf and close to the Pacific garden mall. I rented a bike from the hotel and rode all over the place. Because it was off-season, the price was really low, but I'd come back and stay here even when the prices go up in the summer. Loved it.

Room Tip: Annex is nice but the hotel on the hill also looks good. Don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $91 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing