We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best fajitas out there.....”
Review of El Palomar

El Palomar
Ranked #27 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Soquel Avenue
Description: Since El Palomar’s opening in 1983, we have been serving Santa Cruz unique and fresh Mexican cuisine inspired by authentic family recipes. Our commitment to excellence has continuously earned us the “Best Mexican Restaurant in Santa Cruz” award.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
826 reviews
552 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,564 helpful votes
“Some of the best fajitas out there.....”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recently dined at El Palomar in Santa Cruz and had very good steak fajitas. The shirt steak was melt in your mouth good - unusual as many fajitas places serve tough and chewy steak. The homemade corn or flour tortillas were very good. The sides included sour cream, tomatoes, lettuce, onions, peppers, rice and refried beans. I had to ask for some shredded cheese. The chips and salsa were very good as well. The salsa was warm which to me is unusual, but tasty. The fajitas were $19.00 and were filling. Happy Hour was 3p-6p. Service was very good. I would go back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan E, Manager at El Palomar, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Alexander, thanks so much for reaching out to us on Tripadvisor! I'm glad to hear you're such a big fan of our "melt-in-your-mouth" carne asada fajitas. It's always wonderful to hear from a satisfied guest, and I'm happy our sides were the perfect accompaniment. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,
Johann, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    82
    30
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa cruz
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cocktails with the girls last night”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A friend called and suggested hooking up with our girlfriends for drinks and tacos. Fun Place to catch up with friends and meet new ones they had a chicken and shrimp bowl with salsa and beans very cheap and good eats. The restaurant is nice too for social and family gatherings. love the pozzole

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan E, Manager at El Palomar, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for coming in for cocktails with the girls back in May, and taking the time to leave a Tripadvisor review! It's wonderful to hear you're a fan of our specials like the grilled chicken and shrimp burrito bowl, as well as the pozole. We're always happy when old friends stop by to catch up—and we'd love to catch up with you soon!

Take care,
Johann, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Special location, okay food, noisy”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Usual Mexican food in an unusual location: an old theater(?). Therefore, charming details, and it feels like an outdoor courtyard although inside. Extremely noisy, probably due to high ceilings and hard surfaces. Very efficient service. Check out the hat store next door!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taco Bar, hand made tortillas”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We live in San Jose now but from 91 to 2001 we were Santa Cruz residents. We remember dollar taco nights every Tue. Every time we go to SC we stop there to eat. Price & quality cannot be beat. I recognized 1 of the workers there at the Taco Bar and we asked her how long she has been here. 16 years she said. WOW, that is tenure. No wonder the quality and flavors are the same as we remember year after year.
We tell all of our friends and co workers about the Taco Bar. It is an institution! A must for a good bite in Santa Cruz + you also get to see the very creative & diverse locals. Dinner and a show! Need to say more? Just go there, you'll not regret it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican seafood and a”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Menu was extensive and included seafood choices that were wonderfully prepared and sized. We sat in the main dining room, and had attentive service, with drinks and dishes were brought to the table in a time balanced way so no one was rushed. Pitchers of Hornitos margaritas topped off our sal, and the two younger members of our group went on to try Palomar specialty drinks, which they recommended highly. Saturday night reservations needed, or be prepared to wait a long time. The bar and adjoining taco bar looked fun, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVGNCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palomar also viewed

 

Been to El Palomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing