We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for the price”

Vasili's Greek Food & Barbque
Ranked #90 of 373 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great little resturant with good food, great service and good prices. The Gyro was huge, fries were wonderful with greek oregano and spices, and the greek salad was definately filling. The food was fresh and great tasting, dont miss this one.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1968Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“was my favorite in college”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

SUch a great family. THought it was retiring it's dishes. AMAZING food and great coffee to cap off the night. Right at the bast of UCSC.... love it! YUM

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SF-parents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food to daydream about”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

ordered the lamb kabob plate and it was amazing... adorable place, and epic food... craving it now from over seas. will definitely go again when back in cali!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missa_dsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive from San Francisco - great Greek food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I don't think I've been to Santa Cruz in the past twenty years without eating at Vasili's. I've never been disappointed with a meal there...though I do hate having to wait for a table, after driving the sixty miles from home, anticipating, all the while, what I'm going to order and arriving ravenous! Usually, the place is packed!

I love Greek food and have been fortunate to visit Greece several times. Sadly, there aren't many Greek restaurants in the San Francisco area. When I get to Vasili's, I go overboard ordering far more than I can possibly eat! I have to have taramosalata and I want spanakopita. I always order the lamb kebab soublaki plate, as rare as possible, and it is superb. If I'm lucky someone else in my party gets the moussaka or something else for me to try - and we often share a saganaki.

The non-retsina red Greek wine at $18/bottle is a great deal and quite good for the price!

New chef/ownr Julie White who bought Vasili's is doing an outstanding job and I've noticed no difference in quality or taste since she has taken over the business.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RNSANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family owned Greek Resturant”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Good home cooking everything Greek! The kids enjoyed the chicken skewers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l_sciabarrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vasili's Greek Food & Barbque also viewed

 

Been to Vasili's Greek Food & Barbque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing