We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time we'll skip this place”

Crow's Nest Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Ridgecrest, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Next time we'll skip this place”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Altough the service and salad bar were OK, the menu items were completely uninspiring and overpriced. Unmemorable, too, since I can't even remember what I had! Our expectations were set too high after our previous night's meal at another restaurant. If you want a view this is a good choice. Too bad you can't pack a lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fryee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    378
    154
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average and yet always crowded”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am reviewing the upstairs bar and grill section, not the downstairs restaurant which the last couple times I went were lovely, overpriced and with just okay food. Anyway, back to upstairs section of the Crow's Nest in Santa Cruz. The best part of the Crows Nest is it's location by the harbor and facing the ocean. It has a wonderful view and that no doubt is what draws people, plus the fact, that in my opinion, restaurants with great food and service in Santa Cruz are hard to find unless you are looking for something very expensive and even then it's iffy. Anyway, the upstairs has a happy hour with half off prices on appetizers and well drinks. It's always busy and if there is a line, there are no rules, no one helps you find a seat and you often have to hover around an almost empty table trying not to be too rude to the people at the table and to the other people who were waiting ahead of you. The drinks are just very average and the appetizers are so, so., but a good deal price wise. The nachos and smoked salmon are pretty good and the crab cakes the worst I've ever had due to the French's yellow mustard on top. Service is alright considering the crowdedness. As much as I can complain about the rather unimpressive food and drinks, it does have a fun environment, lovely view and is fun to visit with friends and family who are in town. Still I wish they would improve the menu and help people find seating when it is packed. Fortunately, for us, recently, about 6 people ahead of us threw up their hands and left. We had a good time so go if you want, but don't have your expectations too high. They have always had average food and have always been very popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localyokel219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Salad Bar”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant has a formal downstairs and an informal upstairs with bar. We ate upstairs where the tables are more cocktail size than dinner size. The burger was above average. The salad bar was very good - worth the extra money for a trip if your meal doesn't include it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Conventional but good, with a view”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

They're not going to push your culinary boundaries, but if you want seafood or a steak -- or even a decent breakfast -- and you want a view of the ocean and maybe a mixed drinkie or two, this is a good place. The food is extremely well-prepared and the waitstaff and kitchen are quite accomodating. My wife has special needs, and they've always been equal to them with no hemming or hawing; "I'll ask the chef," is what the waiter always says, and the answer is always positive. My wife has not a single bad thing to say about this place; and from her that's a ringing affirmation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ocean Food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food is good but not great but can not beat the view. It is right on the beach and has a good bar and good music as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasonslevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow's Nest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crow's Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing