We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Prattville, Alabama USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I went to Santa Cruz with several friends on Valentines Day weekend 2009. We booked 5 rooms at the Terrace Court. All our rooms were on the second teraace.

The young man who checked us in was very polite and helpful. All of our rooms were fine. Each of us had a funky, retro kitchen, with red bar stools and aqua stove, aqua countertops, and aqua cabinets.

The toom was very clean, the bathroom was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The view was great. Our rooms were across from the wharf and the volleyball courts on the beach.

I am a real stickler about the cleanliness of the carpets and of the bathrooms, and all our rooms were very clean.

This was a great hotel for a weekend stay, and we saved a lot of money by having working kitchens and making dinner one night and breakfast one morning.

I think this is a wonderful hotel to stay at during your visit to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcbdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for your review. We here at the Terrace Court Motel hope to see you soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    164
    31
    12
    13
See reviews for
286
139
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband and I have been coming to Santat Cruz our whole lives and for the past 15 years my family has stayed at Terrace Court and in the past 5 years that my husband and I have been together there has only been 6(keep in mind we go to Santa Cruz about 15-20 times a year) times that we haven't stayed there and that was due to it being overbooked. We always get a ocean view room with the kitchen and dinette which saves us money by not eating on the boardwalk. It is a great location within walking distance of the boardwalk and wharf. There were some problems with staff and management but they have been released from employment there. We are planning our week in January there where you can stay for the week in the off season for the cost of 2 days during the summer. There are BBQ pits there and a pool as well as being over a deli/mini grocery store. We recommend this place not only for family trips but we spent our honeymoon there. Great memories!

  • Liked — THE OUTDOOR TERRACE
  • Disliked — HAVING TO LEAVE!
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEACHBABY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
We here at the Terrace Court Motel would like to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa. CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We just stayed at the Terrace Court--what a dive!
My kids had to wear flip flops in the shower, it was moldy.
The sheets had hairs on them. The bedspread was stained. From the moment we walked in, I felt like sand fleas were biting me. It was very noisy as well. All around the complex it smelt like urine. When we talked to Jeffrey the Manager, he simply said the two dives on either side of us, cost more money.
We paid $250 for an ocean front family suite--don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfunNapa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
We here at the Terrace Court Motel are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently under new ownership and management and understand there is no excuse for the issues from that last stay with us. We are currently renovating our rooms and will be done with this transition in the next year or two. We hope then you’ll give us another try so that we can become your favorite place to stay in Santa Cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We've always stayed at the Coast Santa Cruz or the Sea and Sand, but this time the Coast Santa Cruz was closed for remodeling so we tried the Terrace Court. We really like it here and will make it our place to stay in Santa Cruz! The rooms are sort of 50's beach scene, but quite clean and modern. We have a King kitchenette which has a great view of the beach and pier. The appliances and cabinets are turquoise metal, and the bed spread is bright flowers in the hawaiian tradition. Everything is clean and in good order. It's not as fancy as the Coast Santa Cruz, but it's less than half the price and more fun.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank lesbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
446 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

This is a nice enough old style motel in a good location. If you want to be close to the beach and boardwalk I suspect this is going to be the hotel for you. The rooms were clean and well presented although a little dated but nice enough and perfectly comfortable. We had an ocean view room which was nice and had a table and chair outside on a communal terrace. We stayed in August so it was the height of summer and I did think it was a little pricey for the type of motel, but I guess thats just the season. Generally speaking though I'd reccomend it for those in search of a good, clean motel in a good central location.

  • Liked — Location - its right on the beach
  • Disliked — Price - a bit overpriced for the style
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

My husband, 3 yr old son, and I recently stayed at the Terrace Court in Santa Cruz for 2 nights. It is located directly across the street from the wharf and beach. The motel itself is nothing spectacular, the room was clean but not updated, the shower was hot, and the bed comfortable. There is a choice of rooms with kitchenettes or fridges and microwaves which makes it nice for families with kids. You can bring your own food and cook it if you like. Also there are 2 charcoal grills available, however, both nights we were there they were being used so you might have to wait or cook early. We had a queen room by the pool with a small fridge and microwave. Since the location is prime it is hard to get a reservation on some weekends. If you do book a terrace room overlooking the beach take into consideration there is a bar across the street with music and karaoke most of the day which is kind of loud. The pool is heated and very clean. We did not have any problems with the front desk staff and we even checked in early. Parking...you are only alotted one space so if you have more than one car I'm not sure where you would have to park. All in all it is a good value for the location.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — not updated
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank simplee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Our family has been going to Terrace Ct. for decades and enjoying the casual, family spirit of the place. Our latest trip was to be three days there with our daughter and baby granddaughter. On the first night, loud music started emanating from the room next to our daughter's and one down from ours. She was trying to get the baby to sleep but put up with the noise for an hour before asking us what we thought she should do. We called the office, and the office called the noisy room. The occupant's response was to come outside his door, sit down and begin to play his guitar and loudly sing. At that point, I stuck my head out the door and asked him to stop (not graciously, I admit), and he started berating me for calling the office. On it went, with my husband calling the office again and the office seeming unwilling to take definitive action. Finally, with much loud cussing and slamming of doors the man either went in or out, and all was quiet. The next morning he saw my husband, made repeated obscene gestures, my husband confronted him, and he responded in a belligerent way again. Again, the office was unwilling to take any action. We could not understand their tolerant attitude to this fellow. We checked out, sad that our favorite Santa Cruz place was allowing such a character to stay there (we heard he was "living" there) and to create such an uncomfortable, unfriendly, and even seedy, atmosphere.

  • Liked — The family atmosphere which has remained constant until this visit.
  • Disliked — The new element of a seedy character living on the premises.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank April7055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Street Inn and Suites
Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5412 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing