We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great But Not Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma County California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great But Not Luxurious”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This property has apparently been undergoing a complete renovation, building by building, for the past couple of years, and I'm sure it's a hundred times better than its predecessor. My husband and I rented one of their Ocean View Sundeck suites with a good sized, sunny deck overlooking the rooms one level below us, and the beach beyond. The suite was small and pleasing, but modestly decorated and included a full, tiny kitchen within the sitting area.The website indicates that the suite can sleep 6, but I would definitely not recommend more than two adults as the two sofa sleepers are in a very small room which would be overwhelmed by even two more adults. It would be suitable for a family of 4, with two younger children however.

I think the property owners are going for "luxurious" accommodations, but I would not put them in that category. The king bed was comfortable but the pillows were not and when I asked, there were no alternates available. The in-room coffee was just standard pre-packaged, there was no tea available, and bathroom amenities were not name brand. There was no desk of any type for a work/computer area and in fact, the wi-fi was very temperamental, though the staff very kindly offered to work on it (to no avail however). We were not able to lock the french doors leading out to the deck, and were told that they were "tricky." On the more positive side, the view from our room out to the ocean was excellent, the staff friendly and accommodating, the grounds kept clean and tidy, parking very convenient right outside the rooms, nice comfortable deck furniture, and a great little sandwich/ice cream shop (The Picnic Basket) at the bottom of the stairway leading down to the street.

If you are familiar with the Dream Inn just across and up the street, this property is not exactly on that level but the room prices are pretty much identical (at least at the time we stayed there), so we were expecting a bit more in the way of upscale amenities. But this property is very charming with more of a beach-town atmosphere, and we really enjoyed being able to cook in and enjoy the outdoor deck and seating area. We would definitely consider returning, now knowing what to expect.

Room Tip: The suites on the third level have the best decks, with the parking and pool on the same level as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    162
    31
    12
    13
See reviews for
283
138
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisville, ky
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here while on a coastal drive from San Francisco. We had never been to Santa Cruz before so decided to stop overnight for the boardwalk. The motel is conveniently located to the boardwalk, and right across from the pier. We had a patio with great views of all the activity. We had two queen beds with a nice kitchen, and remodeled bathroom. Management was friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charleslouky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our stay at the Beach Street Inn and Suites was wonderful! The room was spacious and open. the view was amazing!!!! The amenities were great too! The only few things that i can say were bad was that the cleanliness of the bathroom was a bit bad, and the dust was a bit much. But we were able to look past that and had a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: the third terrace is amazing and i recommend Suite 305!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ttpangelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really enjoyed or stay here. We were in one of the ocean view rooms. The room was adorable with its beach theme. The beds were super comfortable. The sink/microwave area was a very nice bonus. But the highlight had to be the shower. Loved the shower! The room also had hardwood floors rather than carpet which I liked. We enjoyed sitting on the chairs in front of our room and just looking out at the wharf/ocean. We could hear the waves crashing and the seals barking from inside our room which was cool. The man who checked us in and out at the front desk was super nice and friendly and told us all the great spots to go to in Santa Cruz. He even let us leave our car parked there for a couple hours after check out. We did not get a chance to use the pool but I was pleased to hear that it is heated. I was here with friends but I really hope to come back with my family in the near future. The location can't be beat. The only reason for losing a star is the price. I know all hotels in Santa Cruz are expensive but the rates here can be pretty high even for Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really loved this place! My husband and I stayed here recently with our 18-month-old son in one of the beach bungalow rooms in the very front (with the shared balcony). The location was unbeatable -- right across from the beach/wharf and a short walk from the boardwalk. We had a full kitchen but didn't end up using it much because there are so many restaurants within walking distance. Tip: The Picnic Basket downstairs is excellent, especially the breakfast burrito, turnovers (we tried the cheese/greens and fresh fruit) and the morning cake.

The only cons, and the only things preventing me from giving five stars: the cleaning service was a little sloppy, never opening our shower door at all (leaving wash cloths on the ground each day) and the showers/narrow glass doors made it tough to bathe our son. The worst thing, which isn't the fault of the hotel necessarily, is the marijuana smoking from other guests. Unfortunately there's a large gap underneath the entry doors and we found our room filled with the awful smell one night. We notified the front desk and they said they would check it out. Obviously, this was a problem traveling with a little one...especially when there is no smoking (of anything) allowed at the property.

Despite those cons, we really liked this spot and would stay again in a heartbeat. Next time, we'll know to plug the space under the door :)

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms in the very front were great. We weren't sure about the shared balcony at fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Lady at check in was very friendly and gave us loads of recommendations for our stay in Santa Cruz and further down the Californian Coast. Room was very well decorated with excellent shower and nice sun deck overlooking the sea, although this was shared with other rooms so not private at all. Nicely situated on the beach front although we found there weren't many restaurants in this area and it was a 15 min walk to downtown. Nice place but very expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is awesome! Location is amazing. Very friendly staff. The guy who greeted us when we arrived was very nice and answered any questions that we had. It seemed like a lot of families stay here which is what I look for when I am trying to have a relaxing vacation (younger crowds = lots of noise). The room was very nice. I am very picky about the hotels I stay in and cleanliness is extremely important to me. This hotel was spotless. The bathroom was also very clean. (Loved the spacious shower.) We go to Santa Cruz every year and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Street Inn and Suites
Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5412 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing