We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beachfront/People-watching Environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just spent a girls weekend here with my old college roommates, and we had such an amazing time! We got a LivingSocial deal, so I was guardedly optimistic. But, I couldn't believe what an amazing value this place is!

Pros:
- Customer Service: booking on the phone was so pleasant, and the hotelier was extremely helpful and kind! When we arrived to the hotel, he assured us that if we needed anything, we could always call and ask. We noticed there wasn't a wine opener in the drawer, so they quickly brought one down to us.

- Location: We were situated over the cutest coffee shop (The Picnic Basket) and directly across from the beach! 1 block away from the Boardwalk, within walking distance from lots of places to eat and shop.

- Room: 2 queen beds, a full kitchen (microwave, oven, 4-burner stove top, mini fridge, and sink), a nice (yet somewhat small) bathroom with a shower, a cute little table/chairs set, and a big, updated TV. Perfect amount of room for 4 women (that don't tend to pack light, ha!) and plenty of space to feel at home.

- THE PATIO. Need I say more? We spent about 75% of our time in Santa Cruz just sitting on our patio. Okay, it was shared, but it was the perfect place to have happy hour, watch the passersby, smell the ocean air, look at the waves, and soak in the sun.

- The overall experience - Free parking, a cute communal fire pit with ocean views, close proximity to everything, friendly staff, and clean rooms.

Cons:
- The patio is shared, and can be accessed by walking around the building. Since we were on a corner room, we noticed people tended to walk by our sliding glass door and windows - which lent itself to a bit of a privacy issue if our blinds weren't shut. Also, there were four girls, and only 2 Adirondack chairs for our room to use, so we had to borrow some from the other rooms when they weren't using them.

- If you are sensitive to noise, this might be a bit too loud for you during the day. However, it stayed very quiet at night, so sleeping was never a problem.

- The internet access was a little dodgy.

We absolutely loved our stay, and it was perfect for our girls weekend! Thanks so much, Beach Street Inn & Suites!

Room Tip: Ocean view balcony suite with a kitchen (2nd floor, not 3rd) was an amazing choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 635 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our family stayed here just one night over a weekend. The place is so nice, wonderful shower, and very accommodating at the front desk.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of a perfect five is because wifi coverage in the rooms wasn't all that strong. We kept getting kicked off the network, and when we are streaming movies that became frustrating. Having said that, we would definitely go back again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review of Beach Street Inn! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us .

I am so sorry to hear about the wifi issues that you had while staying with us. We had some ongoing problems with the wifi during the time that you stayed here but are happy to report that we have added more bandwidth and additional routers which have increased the signal strength.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very charming beach themed decor. Room came with a full kitchen and a bag of saltwater taffy! Just park the car and walk to the boardwalk & the wharf. Natural Bridges State Beach is a very short (5 min.) drive away. The only drawback was the wifi wasn't working.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bearrabbit790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We all loved this place and were glad we found it. It was off season and not too crowded so we had the place almost to ourselves.
We had a suite on the top floor which gives you a great view of the pier. It is in walking distance to the pier, boardwalk and shops. Were able to see surfers from here

Friendly staff and very nice decor. Rooms look newly remodeled with bright cheerful colors. Wish it was warmer as the pool looked great.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

For my 25th birthday I chose to head down to Santa Cruz for a little weekend getaway with my friends. I came across Beach Street Inn and Suites after looking up hotels on Trip Advisor. I was very happy with the other reviews and the location of the hotel which is in walking distance to the boardwalk so I went ahead and booked one night.

After some scheduling rearrangements, I ended up switching from a pool view suite to an ocean view suite (the price was about $70 more) but in my opinion worth it. The ocean view suite that I rented fit up to 6 people, with a separate bedroom, living room a full kitchen. They had a bar top table with stools in the living room as well as deck chairs on the shared patio for our use.

My tips if you plan on staying here:

1. Try to limit yourself to one car. When you reserve the room they make you very aware that they only have space for one car per guest as they are located right across the street from the boardwalk so parking is scarce. However their staff is phenomenal in helping you locate parking and if you are lucky there might be some extra spots on site.

2. Go for an ocean view room. Sure the pool rooms are closer to the parking and the pool, but nothing beats sitting out on your deck having a drink and taking in the view of the Pacific Ocean.

3. Park your car at the hotel and take advantage of the location by walking. Literally below and across from the hotel are shops, restaurants, the beach, and the pier.

In my opinion, this hotel is perfect for everyone from families, to friends, to couples. We had really cool neighbors, the staff was beyond amazing, and the location, just right if you want a nice beach getaway. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Eradravu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great place to stay with very nice staff. Rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated (you feel like you are staying in a good friend's guest room), have a lovely view, functional fridge, microwave and coffee maker, unbelievably perfect shower...we'll definitely be back. I thought it might be a bit noisy but it was so quiet we could hear the waves with just a tiny opening in the window.

Room Tip: The lack of an elevator and many stairs might be an issue for some. We didn't mind as it was en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location....walked everywhere. Rooms very cool with relaxed, beachy feel. Great breakfast downstairs in Picnic Basket..really recommend. Staff so nice, helpful and friendly. Beds....found a bit hard, but that could be a preference thing. ONLY DOWNSIDE...REALLY, REALLY BAD WI-Fi. Next time we visit Santa Cruz (which we do rice a year)..,will stay here, but check with them first on if they have improved their wi-fi. For me, that was a downside. So...except for wi-fi....awesome and would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5412 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $153 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing