We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood Fl
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Suprise”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Was booked at The Chaminade Resort and Spa was a awseme property but not that close to the beach.I wanted to be on the beach so I got on trip advisor(which I should have done in the first place. I used hotwire first) and found this place .What a perfect motel could not be happier

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    162
    31
    12
    13
See reviews for
283
138
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

On our roadtrip from vancouver island, down the coast to california, at the beginning of May 2013, we visited Santa Cruz along the way. We decided to pick this hotel because of it's great location. It's right across from the beach and boardwalk, and is only a 5 minute walk to the downtown. When arrived, we were greeted by the nicest front desk person, Kathy, who was very friendly and down to earth, she showed us a couple different rooms, and we ended up staying in one of the rooms next to the pool. The room we stayed in was amazing, it had recently been totally redone and decorated very tastefully, giving it a beach-house type of feeling. The shower in our room was the nicest shower i have ever been in. We enjoyed our room so much , we decided to extend our stay and check out more of Santa Cruz. Kathy was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us directions and some really great suggestions for great food and entertainment. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. It definitely made our experience in Santa Cruz one to remember. Beautiful room, great location, and the friendliest, most caring hotel staff we came across down the entire coast. We can't say enough about it. Our experience at the hotel with Kathy set the tone for the rest of our trip, ending the last half of it on a high-note, we enjoyed the natural splendour, rolling all the back up the coast feeling relaxed. We HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codycandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to have provided you with such a great experience! I am particularly happy to hear that you received such a great level of service from our staff. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time you are down the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I can't express enough how AWESOME this hotel is! It is directly across the street from the beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants! Our room was absolutely darling!! The decor was so dang cute, beachy and most of all CLEAN! I did not want leave after our one night stay! The staff was super friendly! Thanks so much to Kathy who took the time to sit with us and give us the information we needed for our stay that weekend! I definitely recommend this place and this will be the only hotel we book going forward! Peace!

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 (palm trees kinda blocked our view, but not much)....202 and on would be the best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel couldn't be more convenient for a fun stay in Santa Cruz if it tried! Located directly across the street from the wharf, beach, Boardwalk, shops and several good restaurants, plus a small grocery/liquor store and a coffee shop are just below the inn. Then the room, itself, was very nice, clean and decorated in a fun "beachy" style, with a very handy kitchenette that contained a generous refrigerator, microwave, dishes, glasses and silverware....perfect for a stay-in breakfast, lunch or even casual dinner. They also have several nice barbecues near the office patio. We ate dinner across the street at the Ideal Bar & Grill and received very good food and great service.....a lobster dinner for $11.95 on Wednesdays! The inn is a tad pricey, but think about what you're saving on gas by walking - parking is free!

Room Tip: For the best views of the ocean and privacy, get a 3rd floor room. If you have kids who love to swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BobsCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We decided Saturday morning to take a trip to Santa Cruz to celebrate Pride. I quickly searched TripAdvisor for a nice place to spend the night so we could be there for the parade on Sunday. I booked a room at Beach Street because the photos showed a lovely place that looked worthy of it's hefty price. It was a splurge weekend so I went for it and booked an ocean view room. Definitely met and exceeded my expectations. Room was beautiful, bathroom was amazing (double shower!), the staff was extremely helpful, especially Kathy who helped us with information about the parade route and the other festivities. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat and definitely plan a return soon!

Room Tip: If you want a 100% ocean view make sure you don't get room 201. While you can see the ocean, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclsact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I spent three nights with my family in one of the Ocean View rooms and loved it! The proximity to the beach, Santa Cruz boardwalk and Cowells surf break made this an excellent location. I will definitely stay here again. Staff was exceedingly friendly and welcoming.

I was able to wake, look out the front window (from bed-still under the covers) and see the waves breaking down at Cowells each morning. As such, I sneaked out to enjoy a morning surf session while my wife and young children slept. By the time the sea lions had serenaded them to wake, I was back for breakfast on Beach Street and then playing on the beach with my kids.

I can't say enough about the cleanliness, friendly atmosphere and fantastic location of the Beach Street Inn. I am an off season kind of tourist and we hit this on the last few days of the off season.

Spent each night on the porch enjoying take out Panang curry from the Thai restaurant down the block and sipping beers from Trader Joe's. The room had a nice kitchenette, so we were able to stock the fridge with snacks and left overs. Also, it was very nice to have a very short walk back to the room after playing on the beach...quick shower (and nap time for the toddler) an we walked down to the boardwalk for amusement park rides!

I was impressed and look forward to visiting again. Thanks Beach Street Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! It sounds like you got a taste of the best that Santa Cruz has to offer with morning surf sessions, the beach and great views. We are proud to have been a part of making your trip to Santa Cruz enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Near the Beach, the Boardwalk, the Wharf, and the Trolly that goes downtown.We loved the front balcony patio and sliding glass door of the first floor terrace ocean view room with a kitchen, it was great for people watching and watching my teenage children on the beach while staying cool in the air conditioning. The small but effecient kitchen was a great addition to the room. The decor of the room was new and cute. The shower was large and new as well. The staff at check-in were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to park early and called us when our room was ready (we were able to check-in early beacuse our room came available). The property was very clean and well taken care of, and very secure. I reccommend the first floor rooms for people watchers and people who do not mind a little noise and like to party, first floor rooms allow you to see the ocean, the beach and the street. Higher floors offer a great view of the ocean but not the street. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirectThreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Street Inn and Suites
Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5412 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing